karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

Judging a Book by Its Cover. Not Me! Part 1

In life we are told not to judge a book by it’s cover, meaning that when we look at someone, we shouldn’t judge them by how tall, short, fat, skinny, or the color of their skin, but by what’s in their heart or how they make us feel. Actually we shouldn’t judge anyone. We are all different and unique. No two of us are alike in every way. Think how boring life would be if we were. So why is it that people will pick up and read a book because of it’s cover? There have been a lot of blog posts lately that focus on a book’s cover and I don’t think that’s right. I will buy and read a book for many different reasons, but never because of the cover art. I will read any book, in any age group, and any genre just because the blurb or an excerpt has gotten my attention. Sometimes I read books because of the reviews they’ve received and sometimes because someone has asked me to. So without further ado, I’d like to share some covers with you of some of the books in my kindle and after the slideshow I’ll post links to each of the books and tell you if I’ve read them yet and why I read them. I’m not going to give you reviews. You can judge them anyway you want, but please take the time to check the links and read the blurbs before you judge.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“Messages From Henry” I actually picked this up for a couple of reasons, first I got it on a freebie day and second because of the reviews. I have started reading it and when I’m done I will post a review.

http://www.amazon.com/Messages-From-Henry-ebook/dp/B008CJ1R5S/ref=pd_rhf_dp_p_t_2

“American Goddesses” Yes I have read and reviewed it and you can find my review and the links here

https://karensdifferentcorners.wordpress.com/2012/07/02/my-review-of-american-goddesses/

“I Believe” I picked this one up because I have a story in it. 🙂 And you can get your copy for free today! 9/24/12

http://www.amazon.com/I-Believe-ebook/dp/B006GTTM58/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1348511553&sr=1-1&keywords=i+believe

“Catch Her in The Rye” I’m thinking I got this one on a free day and yes I have read it. See my review here

https://karensdifferentcorners.wordpress.com/2012/06/18/review-of-catch-her-in-the-rye/

“Spring into Summer” I did a special promo for Eden when she released Spring into Summer. No I haven’t had a chance to read it, but I definitely will! Find it here

http://www.amazon.com/Spring-into-Summer-ebook/dp/B008IJ4BNM

“Near Death” This is the first book I read from a new author. I actually put the paperback version on my wish list last year for Christmas because Richard had posted an excerpt on his blog that made me cry and I had to read it, so my son bought it for me.

http://www.amazon.com/Near-Death-ebook/dp/B005ZHBTK8

“New Blood” I read this because I was really interested in checking out Paul’s writing style.

http://www.amazon.com/New-Blood-Melrose-Part-One/dp/1466330422

And I have part two, “Unicorns” on my kindle, because I really enjoyed part one 🙂

http://www.amazon.com/Unicorns-Melrose-ebook/dp/B0094K5SI6/ref=la_B004OEFF80_1_12?ie=UTF8&qid=1348514655&sr=1-12

“Frozen Past” And I bought this one and read it because I like Richard’s writing style.

http://www.amazon.com/Frozen-Past-ebook/dp/B007HETCU6

Now some are you are saying, “Where’s mine?” I have 305 books in my kindle right now, so it looks like I will be doing quite a few more posts on book covers. 🙂

And on another note…I’ve been tagged in “The Look Challenge” on my other blog, so stop by and get a first peek of the first book in my new series and  a special sneak peek at the second book in Chris’ Journey, “A Corner For Life.”

http://differentcornersinmylife.blogspot.com/

10 Comments

  1. Thanks so much for including me here Karen. xox
    eden

    Like

    • Hi Eden. My pleasure. Now I just need to sit down and get some reading done! 🙂 hugs!

      Like

  2. Just like you said – we shouldn’t judge….so don’t judge those who DO like lovely book covers! I only click on a book if I really like the cover. If the cover is sloppy and unprofessional, it gives me the impression that the writing is also sloppy and unprofessional. This may not always be true, but being an artist, I cannot help to be influenced by the cover! Fortunately the universe is big and there is allowance for all different types of people….

    I enjoyed your post, though….and some of those covers are nice. I love “Catch Her in the Rye.” Others have very original and catchy concepts, but need a little technical polishing.

    Melody Simmons
    http://ebookindiecovers.com/

    Like

    • Hi Melody
      Just found your comment in the spam file. You are right we shouldn’t judge those that do choose books because of the covers either. But you can pay hundreds of dollars for the best cover ever and if you are a bad writer it still won’t help and visa versa. Thank you for stopping by and leaving your link, that way others can check out your site. I know there are a few looking for cover designers. Hope you have a great weekend!

      Like

  3. What a nice cover does is make me pick up the book and read the blurbs and maybe a bit inside to see if I want to read the book. I can’t help it. . . I’m drawn to pretty pictures 😀 So while I don’t think I’ve ever (not since grade school, anyway) read a book just because I liked the cover, I have read books because the cover made me look farther.

    I work at the library and handle a LOT of books. Too many of which are currently sitting at the head of my bed, waiting to fall on me in the next earthquake. So you’d think I’d have the cover thing down, but nope. Still looking at lots of books I’m not interested in because the cover was intriguing, and still haven’t figured out the best cover for my own book.

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. My New Book! Free June 4th and 5th! | karensdifferentcorners
  2. FREE TODAY ONLY-Must Read “Judged By The Cover” by Karen Einsel | "The Light-Bearer Series" by Emily Guido
  3. Come One! Come All! | karensdifferentcorners
  4. Show me your Cover with Rob (Sharky) Pruneda! | karensdifferentcorners
  5. An Interview with Eden Baylee (A Draft Post) | karensdifferentcorners

Leave a comment