karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

Please Leave a Message After The Beep…

BEEP!!!

I can bet that we all have at least one of those family members and friends that love to call just to chat. You know the ones… They tell you the past 6 months of their life story… Even though you just talked to them yesterday… Yeah, them! That’s the ones! See I knew you’d know who I was talking about. Not too many people call my house and most of the time it’s telemarketers trying to sell me something and I know how to handle them, “I’m on the freakin’ do not call list! Don’t call me again!” Click. No, I’m actually quite civil when they call. “I’m sorry I’m not interested.” Click. I do not give them a chance to respond. It’s for the best that I don’t. Excuse me for a minute, my phone’s ringing.

“Hello.”

Joyce: The Veterans left a message on my phone. They are trying to reach dad. It is a 951 #. Can you call them and see what they want?”

Me: “Okay, give me their number.”

Joyce: “I can’t see it. Can’t you just call.”

Me: Not without a number.”

Joyce: Well, I am only on a short break. I’ll text it to you.”

Me: “Okay.”

Now if you read my last post you know I have been in a funk lately. Not writing. Not blog posting. Etc. So when I do get motivated and my muse wakes up, phone calls can be a big distraction. Especially when it’s my dad calling.

I’m writing and the phone rings.

“Hello”

Dad: “Write this number down. ”

Me: Okay. Go ahead.”

Dad: 951-555-000

Me: “You’re missing a number.”

Dad: “What?”

Me: “You. Are. Missing. A. Number. It needs another number.” (Dad’s a little hard of hearing.)

Dad: Sh*t. I’ll call you back.” Click.

Now I know the minute I start writing again, the phone’s going to ring. So I wait. 5 minutes…10 minutes… Start pacing the room. Stare at the phone. “Ring already.” 20 minutes…My muse is threatening to go back to her room…Open up WIP and…Ringgggg. Repeatedly bangs head on table.

“Hello.”

Dad: “Hello”

Me: “What took you so long?”

Dad: “Well, I had to run to the market and get a quart of milk, so Jinny could have her cereal.”

Me: “So what’s the number and who is this that I’m calling?”

Dad: “I don’t know. They called and I couldn’t understand them.”

Me: “Okay.  Give me the number and I’ll call and find out.”

Dad: “951-555-0000”

Me: “Okay, I’ll call you right back.” So I dial the number.

“Please press one for English. If this is a medical emergency, hang up and dial 911. Please press 2 for…00000000, Me: “Just answer the dang phone already!”

Them: Dr. so and so’s office. How may I help you?”

Me: “My dad received a call from your office and I need to find out what you wanted.”

Them: “What’s his name? His social security number? His birth date?”

Me: Blah, blah, blah…”

Them: “We just wanted to confirm his appointment for tomorrow at 10:30.”

Me: “Fine, I’ll let him know.” Click

Dial Dad’s number.

Dad: “Who is it?”

Me: “Dad, it’s me.”

Dad: “I can’t hear you! Dammit, Virginia next time you answer the phone. I can’t hear them.” Click.

Bangs head on table. Scares Muse off to her room, where she promptly locks the door and yells, “I’m never coming out again!”

Dad is 91 and except for the fact that he can be very demanding, hard of hearing, and a grouchy old bear, he really is a big sweetheart and no matter what I’m doing, he expects me to drop it and take care of whatever he needs and I usually do. LOL!

I don’t have a set time to write like other writers do. (Maybe I should) I write when the mood strikes, when my motivation is present, and when I can coax my muse to unlock her door and come out from her room.

So what do you do when the phone rings? Do you let the machine get it? Do you have a special message for everyone?

“I can’t come to the phone right now. I am in my cave, writing. If this is an emergency, please hang up and call 911. If it’s not an emergency, leave me a message and I’ll call you as soon as my muse locks herself back in her room. Thank you and wait for the beep!”

I’ll call you back! Hugs till then.

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 Comments

  1. I loved your post.
    I don’t really have a set time to write either. When my phone rings, if it’s not my mum or the alarm company for work calling me, I don’t answer. If it’s important they can leave a voice mail.

    I hope your muse comes back out soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Casey!

      It’s been coming back slowly, bits and pieces at a time. I usually let the nanswering machine get it unless it’s my sister, my dad, or one of my sons. And it’s usullay my sister or her son her tend to chat away for an hour. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Valerie

    You just have to put all the funny conversations with Dad into a book. So fun and funny to read. Call it something like “A Chuckle A Day or Life with Dad. I’ll buy the first copy.

    Like

Leave a comment