karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

Frustrated with Amazon

I love reviews. Good ones, bad ones, criticizing ones, and helpful ones.

It’s been 3 months since I hit the ‘publish’ button for “Wisps of Words” And the reviews are slow to come in and I was wondering why. Then last week my cousin Debbie texted me and said that a screen popped up and told her that she had to spend $50 before she could leave a review.

What?

I told her don’t go through the Amazon app on her phone. Go to Chrome and type in Amazon and go through there.

She did and this is what she got;

I asked her did she just open an account to leave me a review and she said yes.

My son said, “I thought everyone had an Amazon account.”

Evidently, they don’t.

When I gave paperback copies of my book to people, I put a note inside.

Just like this;

I’ve gotten a lot of wonderful feedback. But the reviews are just not there. And then I find that others aren’t being allowed to leave reviews either. This is crazy. I feel like I’m being punished. Hahaha.

Cecilia tried to leave a review and couldn’t so she put her review on my “waiting” post in the comments https://karensdifferentcorners.wordpress.com/2023/02/27/waiting/.

My friend Helen messaged me on Facebook and told me that she tried to leave a review and this is what she got in return,

I just don’t understand. And now I am wondering how many others are not being allowed to leave reviews.

So if you have read, “Wisps of Words” Just leave a comment on this post and let me know if you liked the book or not.

Hugs till next time

5 Comments

  1. I suspect that is why I have so few reviews for some of my books as well. Amazon doesn’t like when people don’t buy from them and I do most of my sales in person at events. I’ve been asking people to post reviews on Goodreads.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Amy. Wow, I can’t believe it’s been 3 weeks since you commented. Life gets hectic at times and I am so sorry it has taken sooo long to respond. Back when I published my first two books eleven years ago, I didn’t seem to have any problems with people leaving reviews. As to Goodreads, I haven’t been on there in quite awhile. And doesn’t Amazon own Goodreads? Ah, the irony of it all.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yup. Goodreads isn’t what it was since Amazon took over, but at least people can post with not issues. (life’s been hectic here as well.)

        Like

  2. I had something similar. When I tried to write a review on a product I bought I got the RED box saying I did something out of line, but I could never find out what. They removed every review I had ever written! I called and complained, called and asked why and was never given an answer. This went on for several months and I was upset. I finally rote an email to the president of Amazon stating that I was a long time customer, published books on Amazon and have only put out maybe 2 bad reviews for bad products. I also mentioned that I was a shareholder. A few days later I got an email from someone in the presidents office that said they made a mistake and reinstated me into the review process. Still have no idea what I did wrong. I’m still upset about it

    Liked by 1 person

    • Trying to catch up. Haven’t forgotten about you. That is really crazy. So many people and retailers rely on those reviews and since they are on Amazon’s site, you would think Amazon would welcome the reviews. Hope your weekend is going great.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment