karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

Wisps of Words

My brother passed away on January 31, 2001. I wanted ‘Wisps of Words’ published on Amazon on January 31, 2023, but I ran into a few formatting issues with the ebook. So I decided to make the publishing date 2/3/23. My 65th birthday. I hit the ‘publish’ button yesterday morning. Success! Right? No. Amazon shows it as being published on 2/2/23. Oh well. The ebook is now available on Amazon for 99 cents. Find it here.

It took me ten years to finally get ‘Wisps of words’ finished. A lot of hard work and a lot of procrastination. Haha.

So, let me tell you a little bit about, ‘Wisps of Words’

‘Wisps of Words’ is a collection of short stories and poems about life, death, and the afterlife. Most of them are fiction and a few are non-fiction written as fiction. One of the stories, ‘Ghosts’ I wrote in 2001, three weeks after my brother passed away for my English 101 composition class in college. I didn’t get a great grade on it. However, my professor wanted me to submit it to the school paper. The not-so-great grade came from the fact that I didn’t really follow and write the class assignment. Haha, I was such an outlaw. However, I didn’t take that class to become a writer. I just needed the credits for my degree. And yet, here I am.

None of us want to face our mortality. We don’t want to think about dying or losing our loved ones but death is a part of living.

I hope that the stories in, ‘Wisps of Words’ will touch your heart and maybe it will change your perspective on life, death, and the afterlife. I don’t know. I do know that life can be way too short.

I want to thank Eden Baylee and Robert ‘Sharky’ Pruneda for all of their help. Love you guys!

I’ll leave you with a quote from the book,

“Sometimes we must experience the sorrow of death to fully appreciate life.”

Hugs till next time,

Karen

P.S. If you do get a chance to read, ‘Wisps of Words” Please leave a review. Good or bad, I love reviews.

2 Comments

  1. Hi Karen, I’m so sorry to be late in commenting here! Firstly, congratulations on your release, so incredibly happy for you that you got the book out!

    I know what a huge endeavour it is to publish a book at ANY time, so your story is all the more poignant because of how the publication date ties into the life and death of your brother. I’d like to think Amazon published it a day early as an EARLY birthday gift for you! It makes for a good story that way, right?

    I love the print copy I received and I’m going to pick up the ebook too! Both will be welcome additions to my library — both physically and on Kindle. You are a doll. Thank you!
    xox
    eden

    Like

    • Hi Eden. I am so sorry I haven’t replied. I am trying to do catch up now, Life tends to throw curveballs sometimes and our only hope for survival is to dodge and weave. Hahaha Hope you are enjoying your weekend. Hugs as always, Karen

      Like

Leave a comment