karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

Waiting

   We all do it. From the time we are born, till we die. The agitation. The anticipation. Stress. Excitement. Anger. Happiness.

   We wait in line at the grocery store with ten other people when only one cashier is open.

   We wait for the bus in the pouring down rain.

   We wait for that dreaded phone call. Am I going to live? Or, did I get turned down for my dream job?

   We wait in waiting rooms at the doctor’s or dentist’s.

   We wait for good news. We wait for bad news.

   We fear the worst, but hope for the best.

   Sometimes, waiting isn’t very bad.

   We wait for Christmas morning, hoping Santa has been there.

   We wait for our birthday party, our wedding day, and to finally hold that bundle of joy after waiting for nine months.

   What do we do while we wait? How do we pass the time?

   We pace the floor waiting for that phone call.

   We strike up conversations or thumb through magazines.

   We crochet. We write. We read. We scroll through our cell phones, reading emails and text messages. However, there are times when nothing helps pass the time. Time drags on forever when we are waiting.

   Waiting takes a lot of time and work. Wonder if it would pay well to be a professional waiter.

   Why am I writing about waiting? There is a story in my new book titled, “Waiting”, about a young boy who is frustrated and angry for having to wait. If you want to know what he is waiting for pick up my new book, “Wisps of Words” The e-book will be free this Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday. March 1st, 2nd, and 3rd.

   What are you waiting for and how do you pass the time?

Hugs till next time,

Karen

P.S. I love reviews. Good or bad. Therefore, if you read it let me know what you think.

And I just received my first review!

adam

5.0 out of 5 stars

Touching short stories

Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on February 23, 2023

Excellent writing work with emotionally touching stories in ‘Wisps of Words’. The way it was written, almost puts you in the writer’s shoes. You can smell the smells they are experiencing, see and feel what the writer is at that moment in time. Amazing work! Cannot wait for the next publication Karen releases.

5 Comments

  1. John & Pamela Medley

    Congratulations 👏🎉 cousin Karen,will read it also this weekend. Have a beautiful day. Cousin Pamela 🌸🌻

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Pam! Hope you are well and staying warm. It’s been cold here. And thank you.

      Like

      • John & Pamela Medley

        Sweetie you don’t know what cold is until you live here in Montana, I am so disappointed that spring is delayed this year again,this we have not gotten out the 30s. And night pretty much single digits,7 degrees this week at night,I so envy you being there. Wish I was . Thanks for wishing me well,I hope the same for all of you. I was diagnosed like Uncle Willard with Heart failure, I will hope for life beyond 78 or 80 ,we will see. I am also now a diabetic and inneedif surgery for my other carotid artery, opposite of the side I had a stroke on in 2005. I did quit smoking in 2005 I think it is best not to ever start . Anyway I know your good being a vegetarian, wish I had started that life style long ago. But better late than never. Wish all of you a beautiful day and lots of love and blessings. Love cousin Pamela

        Like

  2. Cecilia

    I know YOU’ve been waiting…
    Amazon didn’t like me, said my account didn’t qualify to leave a review! Hmm
    Love the book, and finally reined in my scattered brain to give my review. The old “better late than never” – at least I hope.
    “When you read Karen’s book. “Wisps of Words”, do yourself a favor and take your time – don’t just skim through it. So much thought, emotion, and reflection went into her stories, it would be a shame if you missed out! I’ve read the book several times and I still need to come back to some of the stories to fully grasp their “message”. Two that particularly resonate with me are “The Heavens Above” and “The Greatest Gift”, followed closely by “Me on my own”. Karen’s “Final Thoughts” remind me of the greatest hashtag I’ve come across in a long time, coined by a fellow writer (and artist/gallery owner) during the early days of “the pandemic”, Quent Cordair: “not dying is not living” – sounds mighty similar to Karen’s philosophy! A very positive take on life in my opinion!
    Cecilia K.

    p.s. posted this about an hour (+) ago – didn’t show up when I just now checked back. Hoping it takes this time!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey Cecilia! You know my cousin told me the same thing about amazon. I am going to write a blog post about getting reviews. And than you for your wonderful words. Love ya!

      Like

Leave a comment