karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

Show me your Cover with Rob (Sharky) Pruneda!

When I first did the series of blog posts, “Judging a Book by its Cover”  back in October 2012, it was an overwhelming success and I am still getting requests from authors that want to share their covers.  So I decided to do a part two titled, Show me your Cover, and knew that the first cover I wanted to share was “Devil’s Nightmare” By the wonderful and talented Robert Pruneda. Now if you followed my blog posts about covers the last time, you will know that I’m not a cover person, but when Devil’s Nightmare first came out, the colors are what caught my eye.  So now I am going to turn this over to Rob and let him tell us how he came about the cover for his thrilling novel, (Yes, I’ve read the book and will give a review at the end of this post) Devil’s Nightmare.

Rob's original cover design

Rob’s original cover design

It’s all yours Rob! 

I originally put together my own basic cover design using a free cover design tool online, but I wanted to have a redesign specifically for the launch of the print edition. I liked a friend’s redesign, and asked him if he wouldn’t mind shooting me the cover artist’s contact info. He did, so I contacted his cover artist Rodrigo Adolfo to get some info. Long story short, he sent me a link to his website, we communicated about specifics for the cover and I was sold. I paid $250 for the design which included ebook and print versions and the whole process took maybe two weeks, if even that. All of the elements in the cover have significance to the story, and I am particularly pleased how Rodrigo put together the banner image for the back cover. Rodrigo Adolfo is a great cover artist and I will definitely be using him again in the future. You can visit his site here: http://www.roadioarts.darkfolio.com/

The redesigned front and back cover  by Rodrigo 

Devils Nightmare Ebook (2)

Devil's Nightmare Back Cover

Blurb from the back of the book;

Detective Aaron Sanders’ abilities and fortitude are put to the test when he investigates a brutal double-homicide where a boy’s parents are found mutilated inside their home. The boy is the only witness to the crime and his clothes are stained with his parents’ blood. His clothes are also tainted with the blood of other victims from a separate and even more horrific crime scene at a nearby cemetery. All of the victims appear to have been killed in the same manner and the boy knows the true identity of the evil responsible for the multiple deaths, but he is unwilling to talk. No one would believe him. A threat on the boy’s life and a disturbing nightmare causes Detective Sanders to question his beliefs and his own sanity. This investigation ultimately leads Sanders in a fight to save himself and the life of an orphaned boy from an unimaginable evil that is spawned from the curse of the devil’s nightmare.

And as promised, here’s my review of “Devil’s Nightmare”

I was going to tell you a little bit about the story, but Rob beat me to it with an excellent blurb!

I loved this story. Being a huge Stephen King fan, it had that Stephen King feel to it, but…

When I ask for reviews of my own books, I tell people to be brutally honest and if I’m to give you an honest review…

It has a few typographical errors, which I’m sure Rob knows about now that it’s been published. The descriptions were right on, except there were times when I felt Detective Aaron Sanders was only about 35 and then other times I felt he was older, somewhere around 55 and I would have liked to have been able to visualize him a bit more.

For the most part, Rob does a great job of showing. I could feel, hear, and see what the characters did, but every once in a while he lapses into telling.

Bottom line: It is a page turner. It’s one of those stories where you’ll set the book down to go do the dishes and the whole time you’re wondering, what’s going to happen next and you can’t wait to get back to reading it.

Loved it!

You can read more about Devil’s Nightmare and find the links to buy your copy, on Rob’s website,

SHARKBAIT WRITES

7 Comments

  1. I love the cover for Rob’s new book. It goes right along with the great story inside!

    Like

    • His cover and story turned out great! I hope I wasn’t too brutal with my review, but it always seems that’s what people want nowadays. I’m going to do a post about reviews on my other blog later this week. After I post it, I’ll tweet you the link.

      Like

      • Knowing Rob, I know he takes reviews from talented peers as a learning experience– as I do. Truth to a writer is cool water to quench a thirst– except when we write fiction, lol.

        Like

      • I know, but…We are reviewing the work, not critiquing it. There is a difference, right? 🙂 I’m working on the post now and will give you the link in a little bit. And thank you for being you.

        Like

      • Hi Dannie here’s the link http://differentcornersinmylife.blogspot.com/

        Like

Trackbacks

  1. Wrapping up, Show Me Your Cover! | karensdifferentcorners
  2. I’m So Excited! | karensdifferentcorners

Leave a Reply

