karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

STOP! Let Me Off This Merry-Go-Round!

Could you imagine riding in this on the carousel? I’ll let you come up with your own comments!

You write and write that first draft. You put your heart and soul into it. You give your characters personalities and unique traits.

They have voices and they talk to you and each other. There’s descriptions, dialogues, and a plot. You love your story. You embrace it and hold it close and then… Then you listen to others.

Cut this, say that, reword this line, put that there, write it this way, revise it, edit it, show not tell….too much description, not enough description…UGH! Where do you draw the line? What happened to writing in your own voice? Your own unique style? When do say, Enough already! I thought I was writing for me. Telling the world the story in my head. Yes we all have to edit and revise to a certain point but…When do you say, Stop! Let Me Off This Merry-Go-Round! When does it stop being Merry?

10 Comments

  1. “Stop! Let me off this carousel!” — sounds like my life about now. ( – :

    Like

  2. Sorry changed the name of it! 🙂 But Merry Go Round fits better!

    Like

  3. Casey Sheridan

    Good editing shouldn’t change your voice, it should enhance it, make your story the best it can be.

    And that giant man in the carousel looks as if he’s getting ready to pass gas and the people sitting in him are going to come flying out of his butt. LOL! 😀

    Like

    • Oh I know and I have noticed a big improvement, it’s just these final edits are driving me crazy! As for the guy with the big butt, I don’t want to be anywhere near him if he passes gas! lol

      Like

  4. Zen

    I get off when it stops being fun for me. Ultimately it’s my story, and there are some things I’ll be less eager to change.

    Like

    • I agree with you Zen. And editing, I have found, is just like every other aspect of writing, “You can’t please all the people all the time” At some point we have to say, Enough!

      Like

  5. I tried to comment to other day but my internet went crazy– probably some editor messing with it, lol. There probably isn’t an author who hasn’t experienced what you are right now. An editor that changes your voice is not one you want to stick with. I’ve been lucky in finding ‘real’ editors that drive me a little crazy with picking at so many things but in the end… WOW! They did just what I paid them to do. Made my writing better. Better from a reader view point. If you read what many big time novelist say, they say to accept almost everything from the editor. I must agree with that when you have a good editor. They don’t pat me on the back(wish they would give that a try once in a while,lol) but when I sit to read my books as a reader it is so clear that it is my story, my words and the smoothness an editor helping me.

    I really enjoyed this post, Karen! I’ve anted to vent myself! Great success with your writing!

    Like

  6. Good morning Dannie
    Reading back through we can see the parts where the reader will skim through saying blah, blah, blah. (Ha! Now I see why Charles Schultz always had the adults muffled. What they said didn’t really matter to the story) And when we sit down to write that first draft we put everything down. Every little detail that we see in our heads. But there comes a fine line that we run the risk of losing the impact of our story and our own voice when it comes to editing. I think that fine line boils down to, what we want to get across and what the reader wants to read.

    Like

Leave a Reply

