karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

What’s New With…ME!

Last week I put a call out to everyone asking, What’s new with you, and tomorrow the lovely and talented, Emily Guido will be stopping by to share what’s new with her.

So, what’s new with me? HmmmI live a very boring life, but here goes…

  • I’m still going gray. (Don’t know if that’s a good thing or a bad thing. I guess it depends on your perspective) 🙂
  • I’m still painting my house- 1 paint brush and 1 gallon at a time.
  • I’m still house hunting and creating an invitation list for a housewarming party
  • I’m still waiting to win the lottery so I can afford such house. LOL!
  • I’m still writing and reading.

So here’s my, What’s new with you!

One photo

back - Copy

 

A peek at

“The Spy”

   A morning sun rises in the east as I slip into the woman’s room. Specks of dust glitter and swirl in the light that peeks between the blinds, casting just enough light to help me maneuver around any obstacles as I make my way to the closet.

Turning the cold brass knob, I cringe at the creak the hinges make as the door opens and glance back over my shoulder before slipping inside. The closet is dark, cold, and musty, with the pungent smell of mothballs lingering in the air. An urge to sneeze grips me and I pinch my nose until it subsides. Moving the lever on the wood louvered doors lets in a faint light from the outside room and using my foot to clear a space, I shove the various pairs of shoes off to the sides of the small 4 x 4 room. Satisfied that I made it this far without waking her, I take in a deep breath, letting some tension dissipate before taking up my position by the door.

   The room is silent except for the tick, tick, tick of the clock and her rhythmic breathing. With creamy ivory skin and long auburn hair that fans out across the crisp white pillow her beauty astounds me. Time stands still as I watch her sleep. Does she know I am here?

“Prompted by a Photo” wasn’t actually prompted by photos, but by word prompts from my old writer’s group, writing contests, and challenges. But as I began writing the stories I found that different photographs that I had taken, worked well with the different themes of each one.

I am hopingTentative release date; September 15th. But I still have some editing to do, so we will see. 🙂

And my one link, Twitter

4 Comments

  1. I like the story. Great success, Karen. Going grey is not a bad thing. People tend to beat you up less, lol.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks, Dannie. As for getting beat up less…Lately in the news here in CA people seem to beat up the old people more. It’s just awful.
      Like this one; A 79 year old man was unloading his groceries into his car when his leg touched a newer Hyundai parked next to him.
      The car’s owner accused him of scratching his vehicle and then punched the older man repeatedly in the face.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hello Karen, The book sounds like a great read and definitely on my TBR list! It sounds like you have a TO DO list like I do! Most importantly, I am going to do more on WordPress! I’ve been away too long. Lots of love, Emily

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Emily! Yes, my to-do list seems to grow and grow, and grow! I saw your vlog! Impressive.
    Hugs to you and don’t forget to tweet and share your post tomorrow!

    Like

Leave a Reply

