karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

I’m Trying, I’m Trying, I’m Trying!

To write… But I just can’t seem to get my head in gear. Guess it would help if I’d open up the laptop. 🙂  I have a manilla folder that holds my current projects, and let me tell you it is getting quite full. 😦  There are 10 plus short stories that I have started, one to two pages each, and even though I know how each story is to proceed and end, I can’t seem to get them done. But that’s not what this post is about, well kind of, but anyway, I was going through my folder and a slip of paper that I had scribbled some writing tips on, fell out. Here is what was scribbled on it;

Content– characters, plot, description, dialogue.

Context– mood and theme

I wrote these down on the outside of my folder to help me as I write, edit, revise, rewrite, and write some more, and I thought I would expand on them, and share with all of you. 🙂 Today we will explore the different components that make up content and then tomorrow we will talk about context. Ready?

Characters- Our characters are a major part of our story. They can be brash, cranky, shy, bold, sweet, skittish, and the list goes on and on. Characters, just like us, are different and unique. Each character should have their own personalities, their own quirks, likes & dislikes. Dig into your characters. Are they flirty and fun? Or are they the types that are depressed and glum? Bring out the best and worst in all of your characters. Make them lovable or hateable. (Is that really a word?)

Plot- Whether you are a plotster or a pantser, all stories have a plot.

Your plot is; What is happening, what has happened, and what is going to happen. It’s how you get from “A” to “B” and end up at “C” It’s all about how your story flows from the beginning to the very end.

Description- Covers everything from what your characters are wearing and doing, to what the weather is like, or even what kinds of furniture is in a particular room.

Is your character sitting at a large metal desk, tapping her fingers nervously, while staring out the window at the pouring rain?

If she is and it pertains to the storyline, tell us. Tell us what she’s doing and where she is at. If it’s pouring down rain, describe it to us, but…If it doesn’t have relevance to the plot and doesn’t move the story forward, get rid of it. Toss it, delete it, or copy and save it for a different story.

Dialogue- Awww…My favorite part of writing and reading.

I read a book once. No, really I did!

The plot was great, the characters were described in detail, the overall descriptions of the scenes were  well written, but the dialogue, in my opinion, left a lot to be desired. It made for a ‘heavy’ read. One where there is too much story and not a lot of conversation.

I like to see the characters interact with dialogue. It brings out their personalities, their moods, how they think and feel, and makes the reader feel more connected to them.

Well those are my thoughts as to what content is about. Any thoughts? Do you have anything to add? I’d love to hear what you think. 

Tomorrow we will talk about context and Monday I will be interviewing Samantha Bacchus from the short story group.

3 Comments

  1. Been there. I don’t force it and the urge to write gets me back in the game when the time is right.

    Anna from Shout with Emaginette

    Like

    • Hi Anna! Yeah I’m trying not to force it either. Could be just something in the air or the weather, who knows 🙂

      Like

  2. Reblogged this on Vanessa Wester.

    Like

Leave a Reply

