karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

Do You Ever Wonder?

First let me say, I am so thankful and surprised by all the wonderful, supportive, people I have met online since I started writing. Hugs to all of you.

I’m having an event on GoodReads, to let people know that,

“Chris’ Journey Turning Different Corners, Her Journey Begins”

And I want to thank Patricia Paris for all of her help and support for my event.

I know she says that it’s  just something that “we” do, but her support means a lot to me.

Please take the time to connect and say hello to her. She is a wonderful person.

On twitter Patricia Paris

And Goodreads http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5260012.Patricia_Paris

And her Blog http://patriciaeparis.blogspot.com/

So if you’d like to connect with me on Goodreads and join my event here’s the link.

http://www.goodreads.com/event/show/570281-free-e-book-giveaway-for-her-journey-begins

But even if you don’t want to here’s the link on Amazon where it will be free tomorrow and Saturday PST.

http://www.amazon.com/Journey-Turning-Different-Corners-ebook/dp/B008NQDUQY

Now to the, Do You Ever Wonder Part!

“Her Journey Begins” Is free Saturday and Sunday July 27th and 28th and I’ve gotten two “no’s” And at first I was devastated. How can you say no and turn down a free book? So I went in and looked at their profiles trying to understand and see what they write or like to read.

Now, I know and I comment about it often, but there are days I have to remind myself, “Not everyone will like what you write” But I also have to look at it in my own way and that is, Helping others with their promotions whether you read that genre or not.  I believe I have all my books set up that if you purchase them you can share them (Don’t quote me on it though)  and I got to thinking that, You might not like reading my genre, but maybe your friends would.

I have over 200 books in my kindle. Did I get them all for free? No, I will buy books from new authors. The most I’ve spent on an e-book by a new author, was $4.99 and that was Richard C. Hale’s  “Frozen Past”  His first book, “Near Death” I purchased the paperback copy of and you can find both his books on Amazon . Which brings me to, how sad it is that authors have to charge so much and make so little on the paperback versions of their books, because I would prefer the paperback myself. We have got to come up with a more economical way to get out books in print. If I come up with a way I’ll let you know. 🙂

So do you ever wonder what makes a person say no to a free book? 

5 Comments

  1. Hi Emily! How are you today?

    Like

  2. First thing. I’ve already bought your book and look forward to a great read. Don’t be offended by the ‘no’s’ There will be many people who say yes to a book but don’t indicate it until you look at your reports. Free books are a great idea, especially for an independent writer. Your hope is they will tell their friends about the great book they just read. Great success!

    Like

    • Why thank you Dannie and I’m not offended, just curious as to why people say no. I’ve had the freebies with both of my other books and they’ve done well, even without having the events on goodreads. You see, before I started writing, I didn’t read any book unless it was written by Stephen King. I never tried other writers or genres, but writing has opened up a whole new world of reading to me and I will read just about everything by new authors, not just to support them, but I am fascinated by all the wonderful talent out there.

      Like

  3. Hi Karen, I just got your book 45 minutes ago! The Chris and Miss Vetro characters are exquisitely drawn! The cruel and crooked nature of her foster parents reads as very true, and I’ll certainly read the book in its entirety! This book will take take off eventually I firmly believe that! Enjoy your evening!

    Like

Leave a Reply

