karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

My Firsts!

Good Morning and Happy Wednesday!

This has been a year of firsts for me.

I wrote my first book. (Which turns out to be the fourth book in my series!)

I did my first NaNoWriMo where I wrote my first book in the series.

I went to my first book signing! That was exciting, because I got to meet Ozzy Osbourne!

I finally sat down and read my first novel by a new author.

The book I read was “Near Death” by Richard C Hale.

You can find his book here

http://www.amazon.com/Near-Death-Richard-C-Hale/dp/098477890X/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1325089843&sr=1-1

Which leads to my first review I’ve ever written which you can find here

http://differentcornersinmylife.blogspot.com/2011/12/my-book-review-for-near-death.html

I wrote my first query and synopsis!

I submitted my first queries!

And I am sure there are other firsts for 2011, but the one that I got yesterday was a big one…

I got my first “Rejection” I’m sorry letter.

But wait! Don’t feel sorry for me. A rejection letter can be a good thing!

  • It let me know an agent took the time to read my query.
  • The agent took the time to respond. (Some say that if they aren’t interested, they just don’t respond)
  • It let me know that I have really got to work on my query writing. I need to do a better job of writing queries, which I actually knew I needed to, but I wanted to get the first one out there!
  • And last, but not least, it gave me the incentive to keep writing!

My year of firsts was a good one for me.

I hope 2011 was good to you and I wish each of you an even better 2012!

4 Comments

  1. how will you ever top a year where you meet Ozzy??? Holy Cow.

    Followed you here from my blog and am now following you. thanks for visiting me.

    Like

    • How to top last year? hmmm… Maybe meet Stephen King? I am a big Ozzy fan, so it was a big highlight last year. 🙂 Hi Thea, thank you for stopping by and following my blog.

      Like

  2. Wow a great year even with the rejection letter. Look forward to following you and seeing what adventures you have in 2012. Happy New Year !!!!

    Like

  3. Hi Peter! Happy New Year to you too! There are so many things planned for this year, just hoping I can get half of them done!
    And everything does happen for a reason, so the rejection letter I look at in a positive way. There’s got to be some good and bad in everything we endure or life would be boring!
    Have a great day and thank you for stopping by! I love visitors!

    Like

Leave a comment