karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

Let’s Start Again!

Happy New Year! Well, 2021 has left us and it’s time to begin that uphill climb into 2022.

How are you going to spend this new year? Any plans? Goals? Or resolutions (shudder)? I don’t make new year’s resolutions. To me, they are like promises that you can’t keep. But there are some things that I would like to do this year like read more, write more, work on my bucket and to-do lists.

But today, I want to talk about movies. One of my favorite movies is “The Equalizer” starring Denzel Washington and in the movie, he tells the young girl at the diner about a list of 100 books you should read before you die. I love to read. Give me a good old-fashioned paperback novel and I’ll read it cover to cover, but not everyone likes to read. So, I thought we could come up with 100 movies to watch. I’ll share some of my favorites with you and I would love for you to share some of yours with me.

Ready? Here goes. (And these are not in any particular order.)

The Equalizer

The Help

Driving Miss Daisy

The Proposal (Betty White was awesome in this. May she rest in peace.)

Oh, God starring George Burns

John Q

Bohemian Rhapsody

Unstoppable

Lord of The Rings (Loved all three)

The Avengers (I prefer the ones where they work as a team but the individual movies are okay. Captain America, Iron Man, The Incredible Hulk, etc.)

Remember the Titans

And if you’re a Stephen King fan, Shawshank Redemption, and The Green Mile.

Tom Hanks fan? Forrest Gump, Turner and Hooch, Castaway, Sully and the list goes on.

If you haven’t guessed by now, I’m a big fan of Denzel Washington and Tom Hanks.

And last but not least,

The Bucket list. Did you know that they filmed the speedway scene right here in my hometown?

Well, that’s enough to get you started. If there’s a movie you think I might like, leave me a comment.

And if you prefer to read instead of watching a movie just google, 100 books to read before you die.

I’ve checked out some of the lists and most of the books I agree with and then there are some that I haven’t a clue as to why they’d be on the list. But to each his own.

Okay, that’s it for now.

Hugs till next time

4 Comments

  1. Happy new year Karen! Hope 2022 is wonderful for you in every way. I’m a fan of the Daniel Craig Bond films, so would recommend the latest – No Time to Die, also some additional ones below:
    Headhunters – Norwegian with subtitles
    Memento
    Secrets and Lies
    Parasite – Korean with subtitles
    Jean de Florette and the sequel, Manon des Sources – French with subtitles
    The Talented Mr Ripley
    The Godfather 1, 2, 3
    Gaslight
    Dog Day Afternoon
    The Silence of the Lambs
    Blood Simple
    Fargo

    I could go on but I have to sleep now! Have a super night and hope you’re healthy and happy. xox

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good morning Eden and Happy New Year to you! I see you have The Godfather 1,2,3 and Dog Day Afternoon but not Serpico. I remember seeing it at a drive-in theater when it first came out. Al Pacino is a very talented actor. Looking at your list, I see you and my youngest son have a lot of the same taste in movies. This is a great list to broaden my horizons. And yes we both could probably go on and on. I hope your new year is happy, healthy, and prosperous. Hey, how’s the writing going? Since the pandemic began, I haven’t been keeping up on social media, (I know, I am probably the only one who shied away from the computer while everyone else spent twice as much time on it.) like I should, so I don’t know where you’re at in your writing. Well, I better get off of here. Hope you are having a great morning and hugs till next time.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Karen, I recall Serpico, but it didn’t make as big an impression on me I guess. 🙂 Life is surreal. We are back in a 3-week lockdown effective today, so there’s certainly time to hunker down and write. I’ve been writing shorts mainly and will concentrate on the book this year. Big hugs to you too! xox

    Liked by 1 person

  4. As for the 100 books list, I disagree with some of the rankings, if that’s what was meant by the numbers. Maybe they’re all equally important? Also The Odyssey. Gilgamesh. Uncle Tom’s Cabin. Favorite movies: Groundhog Day, La Strada, and Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment