karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

Dad Died Today

Back on October 2nd. this year I created a Go Fund Me page. You can find it here.

My goal was (and still is) to raise $10,000.00 to help pay for caregivers so my dad and step-mom, Jinny, could stay at home until after the holidays. I thought that if all my facebook contacts, twitter followers, and family and friends donated just a dollar each, I could come really close to my goal.

And then my computer crashed.

Just before that I had written a post titled, Dementia and in that post I had told you about my dad being in the hospital and that they had to tie him down. Must have been a horrible experience for him. I took pics with my cell phone of his hand over a week later and want to share them with you.

My dad passed away last night at 10:09 pm. He went peacefully in his sleep. He was at home under the watchful eye of loving caregivers. Caregivers who have become part of our family. But now, I need to reach that goal more than ever on my gofundme page. Jinny still needs 24 hour care and with dad’s passing she will lose half of his social security, the Veteran’s pension amount will be reduced, and we will lose the Veteran’s homemaker program. It is where the Veteran’s contract with a caregiver agency and send a caregiver 16 hours a week at no cost to us.

I don’t like asking for help for me, but this is important to me. I know we all have our own problems that we face every day and money is tight for each and every one of us. Even if you could just share my blog and my gofundme page, it would be a great help.

My dad’s best friend and neighbor told me that someone had told him to always count your blessings. I agree.

Even though Thanksgiving isn’t until tomorrow I want to share with you a few things I am thankful for today.

I am thankful that I got to spend the time that I did with my dad. I am thankful for the many phone conversations we shared, because those will be what I miss the most and I am thankful that he is at peace now.

I wish you all a Thanksgiving filled with much love, many hugs, and blessings that you will treasure forever.

Much love and hugs from me, Karen.

 

 

 

3 Comments

  1. Prayers for your family. So sorry to hear about your Dad.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Dannie. How are you doing? I am so sorry I haven’t been here, but that’s hard to do when your computer crashes. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m well, Karen. You have nothing to apologize for. Look at my Blog. Haven’t posted for well over a year. But I’m back in Thailand again for a few months and it’s made a world of difference in my mind and body. Hope to post something soon.
        I lost my dad many pears ago and there are days when it hits me, but more and more I remember the good times and the rest fades away. Hugs to you

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

