karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

YAY! UPDATES!

Last month I had problems with my computer. UGH! So I picked up flash drives and began the process of pulling off the impossible task of,  “The great save.”

You know how it goes, “Oh no! Do I have enough room on this flash drive? No? Darn.”

So you put these files here. Organize those files there and you get, “Are you sure you want to save this file without its properties?”

“What? Wait! What file?” And then you get the same thing for the next 151 files. “Yes? No? What do I do?”

It’s frustrating. Most of those notifications have to do with pictures. Book covers. Photographs you’ve purchased to use on book covers. Photos that my son had painstakingly cropped to use in creating some of my book covers. UGH!

On the bright side, I have had these problems for quite some time and had started the process of saving everything to DVDs about six months ago. Not sure how much I actually got saved but…

Then I closed my eyes and crossed my fingers and let my son reset my laptop back to factory settings. Kinda cool. It’s like getting a new computer. The downside is trying to figure out where everything is on the flash drives. (I did make sure to put all of my writing projects on their own flash drive and using red puffy paint; I put a heart on it.)

But I am still having glitches along the way, and my son says the next step is nuking it. So we will see.

Okay, Now for updates. I am still working on getting the outside of my house painted. I am finally making some progress. As long as the procrastination bug doesn’t bite me. (I’ve been working on it for over a year now. Haha.)

I have also been working on my short story collection, “Wisps of Words.” Editing. Rewriting. Adding new stories and I have taken out three stories that just don’t fit the theme. The stories are more about losing the ones we love and how we deal with the loss and the three stories I took out are about finding love. I will hold onto them and eventually put them into a different collection.

I have also been working on my memoir, “Dad Called Today.” When I first started, “Dad Called Today” it was to be about the everyday phone calls that my Dad and I shared. Calls that made me smile and LOL. Calls that made me sigh and sometimes want to cry. And then there are the calls that make me want to bang my head on the table, throw up my hands and say, “Huh?” But somehow, somewhere along the way my Dad developed dementia, and the book has turned into so much more. I still hope to make people smile when they read it, and maybe they’ll shed a few tears, but overall I hope it sheds some light on dementia and will help people understand. It isn’t a self-help book. It’s not a book on advice. Heck, I’m muddling through it just like everyone else who has dealt with it or is dealing with it. Everyone is different, and there are no right and wrong answers.

I’ve also been reading and will be putting up some reviews for Eden Baylee, Chris Ward, and Robert Pruneda, over the next week or two.

Okay, so those are my updates. Stay tuned for more! Till then; HUGS!

 

 

2 Comments

  1. I too have multiple mini-files. My friend has a separate external hard drive where she saves EVERYTHING so that is my next step following so many other techie things 🙂

    The conversations with your father must have such emotion attached in retrospect. I am sure it will make a fine book one day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Lesley. Yes, my oldest son told me I should pick up an external hard drive, but surprisingly, I don’t really use that much space on my computer.
      As for my dad, I love talking to him on the phone and the conversations can be hilarious at times.

      Like

Leave a Reply

