karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

My Secret Life

Two days ago I wrote a post titled, “I Work” But I’m not just a domestic Goddess. I have a job. I’m a writer. Shh, Don’t tell anyone, it’s a secret. Well, at least I try to be a writer. How do the big guys do it? No, really! I need to know.

The last two and a half months of 2015 were hectic, to say the least.

Some of you know that my dad had a mild stroke at the end of September and a week later, my stepmom went into the hospital to have a feeding tube inserted. And two weeks later she was put on hospice.

So, I was out at my dad’s twice a week and when I wasn’t there, I was on the phone. Doctors, nurses, social workers, physical therapists, coordinators, caregivers, family, and dad. And even now, after things have calmed down a bit, I can still find myself on the phone some days for up to 6 hours a day!

But life didn’t think that my load was heavy enough…

My middle son had to go out of town to work for a week, so he dropped off his two dogs for me to doggy sit. 🙂 Now you would think, hey, that isn’t so bad, but I have 3 dogs of my own and one of mine doesn’t get along with his and on top of that they all think they should be in the house. But with a little creative scheduling… It was actually quite fun.

Dogpile bedtime was a little uncomfortable, though. Haha!

P1050118

Then on top of that, three weeks after these guys went home, my dog who doesn’t get along, came down with parvo. My fault. Life had been so hectic, I hadn’t gotten her in to get her shots so she spent 4 days at the vets. To top it off, two weeks before Christmas, I caught a virus and was sick for three weeks. (I’m still blaming the guy at the grocery store who was sneezing.)

Even with everything going on, I did manage to design and create two weekly planners, which I will do a blog post for in a couple of days.

The past three days have been relatively good. I am finally getting back to the writing part of my life. In fact, I have been working on a memoir titled, “Dad Called Today” I wrote a blog post months ago telling about a phone conversation that I had, had with my dad and my step-sister Val had said I should write a book about dad’s phone calls and ever since I have been jotting down past conversations on bits of paper everywhere, so…

005 - Copy

This is just a draft copy of the cover. Not sure how it will turn out yet.

I love talking to my dad on the phone even when he’s yelling and cussing me out and defying me, and raising my blood pressure.

I’m not asking for sympathy. Life has detours and sometimes it puts up roadblocks and makes us jump over hurdles to get to where we need to be. And I’m okay with that.

It’s just how does everyone juggle everything and still come out ahead?

I’m open to suggestions! 🙂

Tomorrow I’m off to see my dad. Oh, and just so you know they are doing pretty good. Jinny is off of hospice care and getting stronger every day!

See you in a couple of days. Till then, HUGS!

 

7 Comments

  1. Hi Karen, you have so much on your plate, I’m tired just reading about it! You are, however, always positive and I’m sure that makes every obstacle a bit easier to cope with. I’m not sure how everyone else juggles everything (or even if they do). I try my best to manage big tasks a little at a time, whether it’s spreading it out over hours, days or weeks. Sometimes my mind just doesn’t want to work on one particular thing, so variety helps stave off boredom.

    Life events such as illness, caring for a parent, or extra dog sitting 😉 never happens at a convenient time, so it’s best just to roll with it with a smile. I know I’m happier when I have a lot to do versus sitting idle.

    Sending hugs too and hope all continues to go well with your dad.

    xox
    eden

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m like you in the sense, I like to have a lot to do, but…Somedays I give and give and yet I still feel like I’m not doing enough. 🙂 Hugs and love to you!

      Like

  2. You are a busy lady! But you handle it well.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. And people say you don’t work? It sure sounds like work to me. What they really mean is you don’t get paid for what you do. In the army you would be the officer in charge of housing, supply and logistics. Oh, and transportation and communications. Actually, the army doesn’t have just one officer to do all of this. The army would have an officer in charge of each individual department…Of course, in the army you’re dealing with a lot more people; but I’m sure you get my point.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love that picture of you (?) piled on by all the dogs. It may have been uncomfortable, but I bet you were warm. 😀

    Life rolls in with all sorts of unexpected things. I take them as they come, trying to prioritize because some things just have to be done now. If I can spread something out over a few days to help ease the pressure, all the better.

    I think you’re handling your full plate quite well.
    (Hugs)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

