karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

Reading, Reviews, Reviewers

I want to stick to the reading theme for a couple more blog posts. I am still reading, just not as much as I was, or at least I thought I haven’t been reading as much. 🙂

Currently I am reading two books. The first is; “You, Inc.” by Burke Hedges, which is a self-help book about being successful. I haven’t a clue as to why I am reading it, considering that I am already successful. Ha! It’s an interesting read. I think my ex boss must have read it because I see a lot of her ways in it.

The second book is titled, “Suppose” by Kathy Steinemann. Kathy was having a giveaway and I won a signed copy! Thank you, Kathy. It is a compilation of drabbles, flash fiction, and short stories. It also has stories in it by Amber Hayward, A.L. Kaplan, and Donna Milward. So far I am enjoying it and am on page 81. I’ll review it when I finish.

008

I’ve also read, in the past couple of weeks, “Silken Prey” by John Sandford. “Imperfect Strangers” by Stuart Woods. And “Deeply Odd” by Dean Koontz. Now I am not going to do detailed reviews of these novels (They were all entertaining) but I want to talk about Dean Koontz for a minute. I like his writing and I like his stories, but his endings always seem to fall flat to me. They just seem to fizzle out. Has anyone else noticed that? He starts out great in the beginning and stays strong through the middle, but it’s like he’s tired of the story and worn out, so he just throws together the ending to be done with it. I don’t know, maybe it’s just me. I mean he ties everything up, gives you a happily ever after or not, but forgets the Bang!

One of the more interesting things that I have found while doing all of this reading is the reviews, but not really the reviews but the reviewers. If you pick up a Dean Koontz novel you will find 5 or 6 pages of reviews and who did the review! So I started researching the reviewers. In one book alone, I found 32 different reviewers. Now in researching them, I found some that haven’t posted a review (Or anything else) on their site since 2009, 2011, 2013, so I crossed them out. As also the ones who state that they no longer review self-published authors. Why, what’s wrong with us? And of course I crossed out the ones who charge for reviews. I don’t know about you, but I can’t afford to pay $300 for a review. But I did find some real gems so I thought I’d share a few of the more promising ones.

http://booklife.com/

http://www.nightsandweekends.com/

http://bookinwithbingo.blogspot.com/

http://alwayswithabook.blogspot.com/

http://thereviewbroads.com/

http://bookloons.com/

Okay, so get busy writing, do some reading, and check out these sites! 🙂

I am heading to Barnes and Nobles. It’s James Patterson day and it’s a buy one, get one, free day for his novels!

I’ll let you know what I get but I’m thinking one of them will be “ZOO”

So till then; HUGS!

7 Comments

  1. I read Zoo and loved it. The TV series not so much.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wel, I’m only into the 4th chapter now, but I could see the differences already in the first chapter. The tv series has been okay, but then I hadn’t read the book. 🙂 I’m getting a little fed-up with Under The Dome tv series, it’s getting way outta whack. 🙂

      Like

      • I agree. Under the Dome is WAY different that the novel. It’s getting a bit goofy with the whole collective mind thing. James Rennie is about the only character I like in Under the Dome (TV Series) now.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yep, same here!
        And here he was the hated one in the book.

        Like

  2. Heather Hicks

    I was reading your “rant” and I totally get it. Happens to me all the time, I just want to be left alone and ask the salesperson when I need them. Of course little things like that get to me. I am reading The Thriving Woman’s Guide to Setting Boundaries by Kim Buck. She is teaching me I can say no, and not be everyone’s everything. It’s good! areyouwillingtobeseen,com is the book site, yes a weird url, but the book is fantastic. I hope it teaches me to have more “rant-less” days! I watched Under the Dome then read the book, didn’t care for either that much, but passed the time!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m a big Stephen King fan 🙂 I enjoyed the book, “Under the Dome” except for the ending and I have been watching the tv series, but it just needs to be finished. I can say no, believe me, most of the time I’ll throw up my hands and say, “I’m done. I’m going home.” And walk out. I used to be in sales and my ex-boss was one of those types that would say, “Go get ’em. Get the sale!” But I’m just not like that. I feel people will buy if you give them some space. If you bully someone into buying something they aren’t going to be happy and some of them will come back to haunt you. 🙂 Thanks for the book recommendation. I’ll check it out.

      Like

    • Hi Heather,

      Thank you very much for the mention of my book. I appreciate that. You definitely have the right to not be everyone’s everything. Here’s to more rantless days. BTW, the weird url is my coaching website.

      Like

Leave a Reply

