karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

“O” is for Ozzy! A to Z Challenge

I’m not the type of person who fawns over celebrities. Never have been and probably never will be, but…

When I was little I had a crush on Bob Hope. Yeah, I know, strange person to have a crush on, but do you want to know what is even stranger? I used to tell people that when I die, I wanted Bob Hope to sing at my funeral.  Come on, I was a little kid with no concept of  death or the fact that he was at least 50 years older than me. (55 to be exact) 🙂

And in my 20’s, I thought it would be awesome to invite George Burns to spend Christmas eve with my family. He could sit next to the roaring fire in the wood rocking chair, smoking his cigar.

But for the most part, I believe celebrities are just people, no better than you or I and there are very few that I would want to meet.

Maybe Denzel Washington or Sandra Bullock, or maybe Bill Cosby, or Betty WhiteYeah Betty White. I bet she’s hilarious! And of course Stephen King.

But the one person I wanted to meet and actually got to was none other than Ozzy Osbourne. I know you are asking the same question as others have asked me, “Why would you want to meet Ozzy Osbourne?”  (Typing that actually came out in my sister’s voice since she would be the one to ask me that kind of question.)

And you might think it’s because I grew up listening to him, but not so. I listened to country music, and it was the old school country music of Johnny Cash, Waylon Jennings, and Loretta Lynn, right up to 1984 and then one of my sisters introduced me to rock. Madonna, Michael Jackson, and Prince. I didn’t really know who Ozzy was until about 1996 when my middle son got into the hair bands and head banging rock. How can you not get into it when Metallica, Motley Crue, and Ozzy are blasting throughout the house. 🙂

But my favorite songs by Ozzy aren’t all sex, drugs, and rock n’ roll. He actually has some really good songs with great lyrics.

Like Mama I‘m Coming Home”

Or, “Dreamer

Or,

See You on the Other Side”

I enjoyed meeting Ozzy and you know what? He is a really nice person. 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

  1. Stopping by from A-toZ -I was going to ask you how you met Ozzy, but …duh….then I saw the picture at the top of your post. I’m glad he is a nice person. Sometimes celebrities are not-so-nice.
    Mary from The View from my World

    Like

    • Hi Mary
      First, thank you for stopping by! And second, He had a book signing at B&N. For the most part he didn’t look up, he just signed the books, but when it was my turn, he looked up and smiled and asked me how I was doing. I stood there and talked to him for a few moments and then had a duh moment myself when I asked him how his hand was. He cocked his head and said, “what?” and I said, “Your hand, no cramps?” He smiled and said, “No, I’m used to this.” It never dawned on me just how many years he had probably been signing autographs. LOL

      Like

Leave a Reply

