karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

Covers and Clouds!

Since today we are working on the letter “C” I thought I’d share two of my covers with you.

Over the past couple of years I have done a series of blog posts featuring other author’s book covers and even though I myself do not judge a book by its cover, others do. So I wanted to get some input as to my current covers in progress. My son and I have been working on changing layout and photo placement, and trying out different fonts.

Both covers are first drafts and not the final product.

The first one is for a book of short stories.

Yes, it still needs some major tweaking, but I’m working on it.

The front cover photo was taken by Stacy Farr.

 “Through the Year” 

130303_0013-1

And I am thinking a cropped version of this will be the back cover photo unless I decide to just go with a plain gray.

DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I took this photo down in San Diego at Campland on the Bay Which is a really nice place to stay at if you are into camping.

Now for “The Reincarnations of A.M.B.E.R.” Book 1 “Alexiah”

n svgjnekgbvnkieb kvb copy

The photos of both women, the gates, and the stairs were purchased through Dreamstime and the background sky and clouds is a photo I took.

And the photo for the back cover. Well, I’m not sure which version I want to use yet.

I took all the back cover photos. This is a hill down by my dad’s place.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I love clouds!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And speaking of covers, I want to share Jordanna East’s second book in her “The Blood for Blood” Series. I love the cover. Not sure who designed it, but it turned out awesome! Just click on the cover to go to Amazon!

51OmLe+iAiL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX278_SY278_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_

 

Well thats it for “C” Let me know your opinions and any changes you think would improve my covers and don’t forget to stop back by tomorrow!

4 Comments

  1. Nice photo for the first cover. Nice skills on the 2nd. I like clouds too. Best of luck with both books! Untethered Realms

    Like

    • Thank you. My son is the one who cuts and pastes, makes things transparent and positions, and then he makes me pay him. 🙂

      Like

  2. Interesting cover art, and very good. I especially like the first one. Very telling. Something as a reader — this reader — I would grab off the shelf, for sure.
    Silvia @
    SilviaWrites

    Like

    • Hi Silvia and thank you. I see you are doing the A to Z challenge also. I now follow your blog so I can keep up with your posts. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

