karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

‘A’ is for Art!

Today is the first day of the A to Z Challenge and I have chosen “Art for the letter A”

Normally when we think of art, we think of painters and sculptors, but there is so much more to art than those.

Art goes way back to the beginning of civilization. Imagine pictures etched on the walls of caves using a rock.

I enjoy art in all of its forms, but the fascination for me lies in the process, the creation, and how it all comes together and sometimes all you need are a couple of items and your imagination.

As children, we could take a sheet of paper and turn it into an airplane.

DIGITAL CAMERA

And some people have the talent to go further. Bending, folding, and twisting that one simple sheet of paper into intricate shapes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Photo by M Connors courtesy of Morgue File

Drawing is easy. Anyone can draw a straight line and then add a few more and you have a square.

DIGITAL CAMERA

Add another square and a few well placed lines and now your square is a cube, Who knew! 🙂

DIGITAL CAMERA

Add and connect more lines and before you know it, you have;

026029

(I’m not an artist, but I don’t think I did too bad.)

But there are so many more ways to make art.

Sculptors can take a lump of clay and turn it into a vase.

Dancing, music, and even exercise are a form of art.

(Think of doing crunches to sculpt some awesome abs!)

Sand can be turned into a sand sculpture.

Photography is an art.

DSC_0019 (15)

And painting

1507647_705931399449740_1487488950_n - Copy (2)

Painted by Valerie Pena

And writing is art, also. Start with just one word;

Apple.

Add a few more words and you have a sentence.

The crisp red apple was sweet and juicy.

And as you add more sentences you create a paragraph.

Keep adding paragraphs and you have a story.

But, alas, we are all creatures of habit. We want to know how it will turn out. Whether it is a new recipe, a story, a painting, or a song we want to taste, hold, feel, see, or hear the finished product.

I’m not going to quote him word for word, because I don’t have the book in front of me, but Stephen King said in the last book of  “The Dark Tower” series, that it doesn’t matter how it ends, it is the journey that should be the most enjoyable.

What is your favorite part of art?

Will you look at art differently now?

21 Comments

  1. Wildduck

    It’s not only the end result for me. It’s the beginning! The initial excitement when you see something you want to paint or make. Then it becomes the “journey” figuring out how, the setting, colors you will use. Then the hard part begins. You sometimes have a project that just works so great it seems to paint itself. Then there are others where you realize you may have made a mistake in your layout or your color scheme. You have to decide whether or not to erase, scrub out, paint over, tear up and start again or find another solution. It’s always challenging and sometimes the results either surprise you or become exactly as you envisioned. The end result is really when you find that “just right owner” who who falls in love with your project and wants to “take it home” with them. It’s like letting go of your “creation baby” for adoption. It’s hard to let go and share but you know you have to do it for the sake of the “creation” because that was why it was made. They say it’s the closest we can be to knowing what God feels like when His creations are born.

    Like

    • Hi Val! I’m surprised that you even knew I posted! Did you see I used your painting? I still love the basics of art. It amazes me how we can take one or too simple items and turn them into something beautiful.

      Like

  2. Lainey

    Brilliant first post to the A to Z challenge – that’s how I found you! Looking forward to reading more. Personally the initial spark of an idea is my most favourite bit! 🙂

    Like

    • Hi Lainey and thank you. This is my first time participating so I hope it turns out well, but then I love a challenge.

      Like

      • Lainey

        My first time too! Good luck, I’m sure you’ll be brilliant 🙂

        Like

  3. Great post! Art does come in all forms. I love origami. I like how you included the art of the written word, too!

    Like

    • Hi Corinne. Thank you. I think I’ve tried every one of the art I mentioned and others I didn’t mention, but I find that the written word holds a special place in my heart. 🙂

      Like

  4. I read a post the other day and I can’t remember who wrote it. He said as a writer you’ve probably tried all the other forms of art because writing was the last thing on your mind but you knew you were meant to do something. So true. Art comes in so many forms and we all have some talent. Great post, Karen

    Like

    • Hi Dannie! I do believe we all have a special talent for something. Whether it be drawing, sculpting, writing, or even the fine art of communicating. We just need to keep developing and fine tuning it.

      Like

  5. Victoria

    Thanks for the follow Karen! All the best with the Challenge!

    Like

  6. Rebecca Douglass

    Nice post. I dabble in all sorts of art, even though writing is the one where I actually have (I think) some talent. And playing with paints can help with the writing process, if only because it’s such a relief to go back to doing something I’m capable of!
    Rebecca at The Ninja Librarian

    Like

    • Hi Rebecca long time no see. I love trying different forms of art and yes it does help to take a break now and then. As for painting, well… 🙂 I didn’t share my first watercolor painting for a reason.

      Like

  7. Donna B. McNicol [@dbmcnicol]

    Perfect start for A-Z…I’ll be back to see what else you have up your sleeve.

    …another A-Zer

    Like

  8. I think I just enjoyed some fine art just now. Thanks, Karen.

    Anna from Shout with Emaginette

    Like

  9. I used to draw those cubes when I was a child!

    Teaching English with Mr. Duncan
    A-Z of hotels

    Like

    • Hi Duncan. I think we all have at one time or another. I think it is a great way to teach dimension to a budding artist.

      Like

  10. I used to love to paint in watercolours. Birds and nature all fascinated me.

    Like

    • Why’d you stop? My son bought me a watercolor set of paints and two sketchpads for Christmas and so far I’ve only attempted once. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

