karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

Please Welcome Angela Kelman

Hi, Angela and welcome, once again, to Karen’s Different Corners!

You didn’t send me a photo 🙂 I clicked on the one on G+ to put it here, but all I got was 🙂 And then I clicked on the one on The Short Story Group’s blog and it sent me to your facebook page and the only one I found there was taken in 2010. 🙂 Oh well, I tried!

Update! My bad. Angela did send her photo. After she emailed me this morning and sent another photo, I found the original one she sent. So once again, please welcome the lovely Angela Kelman!

IMG_2579

Angela, how did you get involved with the short story group?

Hi, Karen.  I was introduced to the Short Story Group by another writer, Vanessa Wester.  She contacted me  through twitter asking if I wanted to submit a story for the first anthology, Out of Darkness.  I thought it was a great idea.

How many of the short story books do you have a story in and which ones?

I have stories in three of the books so far:  Out of Darkness, A Festive Feast, and Love is in the Air.

51xTcrTrYJL._AA160_NEWcorrect       newfront Jul13

Can you give us one sentence describing each story, (If you have more than one) so we know a little bit about them? (Your stories)

In Out of Darkness I have a story called Glenrose House. Glenrose House is a creepy tale about a haunted house and its past and present occupants.  Boo! 😉

In A Festive Feast I have a story called On the first day of Christmas my true love gave to me, olives and chocolate. This is, as the title gives away, a love story about two people wanting to be alone at Christmas but who keep accidently interacting. Its a fast paced funny story, and it was really good fun to write.

In Love is in the Air I have a story called Split Locket of Two.  This is a reflective story about a lost love.  The story was written around a short poem I had previously written. The poem is also included in the story.

If the short story group puts out another collection, will you submit a story again?

I would definitely submit another story.  It has been great fun and I’ve met some fab new people, whom, in return, have introduced me to new books to read.

Okay, now for the hard part.

 Tell us about your writing habits. Do you write every day?

I go through different spells of writing every day and then not writing for a while.   Depends how much time I have…and how guilty I feel about having to do other things haha.  I keep meaning to get a routine started which makes me write every day but I’ve still not managed it.  I would like to though.   

How long have you been writing?

I really only started writing about 4 – 5 years ago.  I had run out of books to read and I said to my mum ‘Mum, have you got any books I can read?’ She said, ‘Why don’t you just write your own one?’

She probably didn’t expect me to actually go and do it.  It has been a huge learning curve.  But I quickly found something I loved to do.  I would recommend writing to everyone.

 How many books do you have out? (You can list the titles and I’ll link them to amazon US and UK)

Other than the short story books mentioned above I have two books out.

Second Chances – A short novel about love, abuse, and overcoming your fears.

sccovernew

The Kylo, Kate’s Journey. Part 1 – An Urban Fantasy about a girl discovering who she really is.

Kylo cover

 Do you have a favorite one that you have written? Why?

I don’t think I have a favourite one.  They are such different books, in style/genre/context.  I couldn’t compare them to favour one over the other.  I wrote The Kylo first and, as it’s a two part story, the story and characters are still in the forefront of my head.  I’ve not really finished it as such.  Maybe when I finish part 2 I will have a favourite of the two.

What’s next for you? Are you working on another book? Tell us a little about it.

At the moment I am working on The Kylo, Part 2.  It is taking a lot longer than I wanted it to.  The question about writing habits is coming back to haunt me now.  It is the concluding part to the story and so much could happen.  I need to get it right. 

What do you do to relax when you aren’t writing?

I read a lot!  And, I’m a family gal with two boys, two dogs and a husband to spend time with and keep busy.  I love my friends, a wee glass of wine or a cup of coffee and we can put the world right.  I couldn’t function without my girlie catch-up’s.

Any other creative pastimes? Crafts, gardening, art, etc.?

I try my hand at poetry.  I like sketching…I need to do more of that.  I also like photography, something else I need to do more with.  Not enough hours in the day if you ask me.

That seems to be a big complaint from all of us. 🙂

Thank you, Angela for letting us have a peek into your writing world!

Thanks, Karen.

You can find Angela at the following;

WordPress http://t.co/Q4sQt9xFpm

Facebook http://t.co/225rEAYV8o

Instagram gelakel

Twitter https://twitter.com/Gelakel

And her author page on Amazon 

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Angela-Kelman/e/B009W2M7GW/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

3 Comments

  1. gelakel

    Reblogged this on gelakel…Angela Kelman and commented:
    Thanks for having me, Karen!
    Xxx

    Like

  2. gelakel

    Hi, Karen. I thought I sent you a pic. Maybe it didn’t come through. Sorry!!!
    Thanks again x

    Like

Leave a Reply

