karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

An Interview with Mohanalakshmi Rajakumar

Hi Mohana and welcome to Karen’s Different Corners.

Thanks Karen!

image  That is a beautiful photo of you.

You’re so sweet.  Really all you need is a photographer with an excellent lens who also gets you as a person and I credit Besa Photography for doing such a wonderful job. You can find them here http://www.besaphotography.com/

How did you get involved with the short story group? How many of the short story books do you have a story in and which ones?

I saw Vanessa Wester’s tweet looking for authors and followed it to the blog. I had written a short story with love as the main part of the plot and sent it in for the Love Is In the Air Valentine edition.

newfront Jul13

Can you give us one sentence describing your story,  so we know a little bit about it?

“Food” is about an office romance that is sparked by an unexpected shared lunch.

I loved that story. Now I’ll have to try eating my curry that way. 🙂

If the short story group puts out another collection, will you submit a story again?

Yes I’d love to. Short stories are a wonderful way to meet a new author and anthologies are even better for getting exposure to many people at once.

Tell us about your writing habits. Do you write every day?

I write every morning when I wake up (or I try to before I go to sleep) the “morning pages” as Julia Cameron put it in The Artist’s Way. These pages are handwritten thoughts and prayers about my daily life. Once that’s out of the way, I can hear myself, my own voice, what’s important to me.

For academic or fiction writing, I try to do chunks several times a week. The magic period is 3 hours. I can get into a piece, whether editing, revising or creating it, and really lose myself in the moment. That usually happens late at night when the house is asleep or on Saturday afternoons.

How long have you been writing?
For the last ten years or so. But yes, I was one of those middle schoolers who attempted a novel – a romance one at that!

How many books do you have out?

Quite a few! The Kindle ones are more popular than the academic ones.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

You can find all of my books here And you can find the book trailers HERE

Do you have a favorite one that you have written? Why?

Asking an author about her favorite book is like asking a mother to choose between her children. They’re all different in their own way and I learned a tremendous amount in the process of telling the story. And that fiction sells much better than non-fiction (including memoir).

I never thought about it quite that way. 🙂

What’s next for you? Are you working on another book? Tell us a little about it.

I’m working on revising the first novel I ever tried to write as an adult. An Unlikely Goddess is a coming of age story of a girl, Sita, whose personality doesn’t match the well behaved woman she was named after.

What do you do to relax when you aren’t writing?

Sleep! As much as I can, whenever I can. We have two young children and I teach full time at a university so naps are precious.

Also, exercise. Writing means sitting at a computer for hours on end. Which is not good for one’s back end!

Any other creative pastimes? Crafts, gardening, art, etc.?

I love to cook. I don’t follow recipes to the letter (which astonishes my husband) but I love looking up food I enjoy eating and then figuring out how to have them on a regular basis

Find me on Twitter
And my author page on facebook

And you can find out more about The Short Story Group HERE!

1 Comment

  1. I really enjoyed this interview and the book covers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

