karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

An interview with, Queen of Spades!

Please welcome, Queen of Spades, author of, Reflections of Soul.

new me

Tell us about your writing habits. Do you write every day?

I don’t write every day.  It does depend on my mood as well as what I’m inspired by.  During the period of time I wrote, Reflections of Soul, I was writing on a daily basis.  However, with this latest collection, Eclectic, it would be a bit more sporadic.  I wrote the first section, Epidermis, in the span of about two weeks, yet it took many months to compose the other sections.

How long have you been writing?

I have been writing since I was eleven years old.  Some of it was journaling while other pieces were part of writing assignments in my English and Creative Writing classes.  In high school, my Creative Writing teacher invited me to do editorials for the high school newspaper.  It just continued from there.

Reflections_of_Soul_Cover_for_Kindle

 Where did you get the idea for Reflections of Soul?

I almost mistook this question for the “tell us a little about it.”  This almost didn’t get published, which I expanded on in that section.  I can tell you the premise of the title.

Reflections of Soul:  Reflections is representative of being able to relate or mirror someone else’s experience.  The person who inspired me the greatest wrote a collection I was able to relate to; I feel these pieces were an accurate reflection.  Yet, it also told of my own experiences that I was going through in relation to the person as well.  The use of the word Soul is twofold: highlighting part of the person’s identity as well as speaking of how my own soul was affected with this journey.  Hence the title.

How long did it take you to write?

Reflections of Soul was completed in the span of three weeks, with the exception of the added poem “Five Years” and extra information in reference to the work, which took about a week to add and arrange.

Tell us a little bit about it.

In my poetry writing circles from years ago, I interacted with someone who brought an extra vibrancy to my poetry.  This person and I were so in sync; there was a written melody that was unmatched.  Even after those circles fell apart, we remained intertwined.  At the time, the person had put together a collection of poetry, and the pieces there inspired the pieces here.  It was my way of saying I could relate.  After over five years, the bond with this person ended on an extremely sour note, and I almost decided to destroy this work, yet a little voice kept telling me not to do.  I didn’t see it again until earlier this year, and when I was reading the pieces, I didn’t feel the bitterness towards the person who inspired it but an appreciation for what it brought out of me.  For me, to honor the inspiration as well as to fully facilitate the healing, I did go ahead and publish this work.

What’s next for you? Are you working on another book?

However, funny you should ask if I’m working on another book.  I just completed another poetry collection entitled Eclectic.  However, there are going to be two versions of this work: a standard edition (deemed Skin Edition) and a deluxe edition (deemed Beyond the Skin).

EclecticFinalPicture

eclecticbtsplay1

They are both set to be launched on September 12th, which is my birthday, and I am hosting a giveaway on Goodreads for both editions.  The difference between the two editions is that Beyond the Skin has an extra section entitled Deep Tissue.  Deep Tissue includes a short story called “Misfortune”, which I will be featuring in my short story collection, “Continuous Drips” which is currently in progress.

What do you do to relax when you aren’t writing?

I love reading, drawing, and listening to music.  Baking also does it for me, but the oven I have is so small that I can’t really get as creative as I would like.

Any other creative pastimes? Crafts, gardening, art, etc.?

Creatively, I do sketches and drawing.  For the most part, they are abstract.  I’m just now getting back in the mood to put my poems to audio. I’m also working on an actual website and having a nice time working behind the scenes.

A new thing I’m beginning to enjoy is the concept of putting my poetry to visuals.  It is similar to a book trailer but it only focuses on one poem.  With the help of Author Y. Correa, I put a poetic trailer together for “Never Broken”, one of the poems that is in my upcoming Eclectic collection.  She’s been teaching me a lot and I’ll be on the path to doing one on my own before I know it!

http://youtu.be/NINL-QNyvz8

 Anyone can be a fool but the one who realizes it and admits it is on the path to wisdom.Queen of Spades
Thanks for the interview!

It was my pleasure! I look forward to Eclectic and I am going to wish you a very Happy Birthday now, just in case I miss it on the 12th!

You can find Queen of Spades and “Reflections of Soul” at the following links!

Facebook Page:  https://www.facebook.com/authoressqueenofspades

Twitter: @authorqspades

E-mail:  authoressqueenofspades@hotmail.com

Blog:  http://queenofspadesthepoet.blogspot.com

Amazon:  http://www.amazon.com/author/queenspades

Goodreads:  http://www.goodreads.com/nolabels

Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/nolabels

Reflections of Soul paperback available at CreateSpace and Amazon

Reflections of Soul ebook available at KindleSmashwordsSony, and Nook

One of my websites  http://www.authorqos.com/

 

Reflections of Soul Now Available!

Print Version:  CreateSpace | Amazon | Lulu 

E-book:  Kindle | Nook | Sony | Smashwords

Other  places to find me:

website  | No Labels Unleashed on Facebook Twitter

 

Also, check out her other project, The Review Board.  I have a passion for helping others.  This is a gateway for me to assist others by providing thorough, honest critique.  This not only provides encouragement but also gives tips to fine tune one’s craft.  Along with my cohort, Andrew Boyd, just deem us as the Siskel and Ebert of critique.
1 Comment

  1. What a great interview, Karen. Queen shows us the power of words even in non-poetic situations. I very much enjoyed this reading.

    Like

Leave a Reply

