karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

Please Welcome Willy Nywening

Willy had contacted me about sharing her cover for her novel, The Journey Home” And since I have wrapped up that segment of blog posts I asked her if she would like to be interviewed and tell us not only about her book, but also her writing in general.

Please welcome, Willy Nywening. MOI

Hi Karen,
Thanks so much for this opportunity!

Tell us about your writing habits. Do you write every day?
I try to write something every. Sometimes its only a few sentences. Sometimes its educational curricula. Sometimes its a serious session that could last for hours.

How long have you been writing?
I’ve been writing for most of my life. When I was very young, I kept a diary. Through my teens I wrote what I thought was poetry. During my late twenties and thirties, wrote poetry again. In 1997, I published an inspirational anthology called Sister Stories. There are bits and pieces of some of my old poems are in The Journey Home.

61bpqUKcRSL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-67,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_

Where did you get the idea for, The Journey Home?
My father was orphaned when he was 7 and was moved around to live with various family members. At 12 he started to work fulltime in a textile factory. in 1954 when he was forty, he moved his family from Holland to Canada. I was six years old at the time. While I was growing up, I always sensed a sadness in him whenever anyone asked about about his youth. When his sister came for a visit from Holland, I saw a part of him that had been hidden. The characters Jamie and Martha were inspired by my father and his older sister. The events are entirely fiction, although I do think that some of them could actually have happened.

How long did it take you to write?
The story was started fifteen years ago. For a lot of reasons, it was left for years at a time. About a year ago. I began in earnest to rewrite and finish it.

Tell us a little bit about the story.
The book follows the tragic lives of Jamie and Martha, a brother and sister, who are orphaned at a young age. Living in their rural town, Strathroyal, the two are shuffled between families, struggling to find happiness in a world where the only constant appears to be disappointment. Jamie and Martha are challenged to overcome their obstacles and believe in the redeeming power of love.

What’s next for you? Are you working on another book or will there be a sequel to this one?
The sequel has been started. The ideas are sprouting and I hope to do a lot of work on it in the fall.

What do you do to relax when you aren’t writing?
We have 8 beautiful grandchildren that we love to love. (The kids on the cover are two of my grandkids). I read, spend time with family and love to travel. I love to walk in the woods behind our house, especially with the dog. I also spend time in church and community activities. Giving back is an important part of my life.

Any other creative pastimes? Crafts, gardening, art, etc.?

The garden is a refuge for me and often that is where my ideas begin. The grandeur of nature never ceases to amaze and inspire me.

Links:

Willy Nywening’s website

Facebook

I Universe

Goodreads   

Thank you Willy for sharing with us. I wish you much success. Keep writing!

Leave a Reply

