karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

Doors in my head!

Has it been two weeks yet? I told everyone I was taking a blogging break for a couple of weeks, so has it been two weeks yet?  Sometimes taking a break from blogging is hard because you get all these ideas for blog posts and you really have to write them down. Same goes for stories that pop up in our heads. How does that saying go? When one door closes another one opens. Is that right?

I have set aside my novels and have been working on short stories. We are talking stories that are 500 to a couple of thousand words and you would think these would be easy to write and finish in no time flat, and yet I struggle to finish them before a new door opens.

And my characters are demanding!

J and J are having a detailed conversation with me when K and K come crashing in wanting to know when I will get back to them. Dr. Moore is still stuck in traffic. He may never make it to work. Good thing he’s got that gorgeous blonde in the car next to him to flirt with. And then there’s Jill, who is getting ready to go speed dating and she’s standing in line tapping her foot impatiently wanting to know what happens next.  And these are just a few of my short stories. Each one wanting to be told and yet…I know how they will end, but I am afraid to finish them. Afraid of not talking to them every day, because I know  there are no sequels to their stories and I will miss each and every one of them.

My short stories occupy my mind during the day, but my evenings are spent with Alexiah and Rick. I love listening to their trials and tribulations that they endure in a post apocalyptic time. Their story isn’t short, but they know as well as me, that their time will come to an end. So they don’t push and prod me to get writing. They sit and tell me about their day. Their hopes and their fears. But through it all they laugh and cry. They love and hate. They are strong and like a good friend they will be missed long after they are gone, so they wait patiently for me to write their story.

I have a little girl who has opened a new door in my mind and her first story is just about to be submitted to an agent, but unlike my other characters, she plans on staying around for awhile. So I need some help in giving her a name. I had thought about Emily, but Emily is the little girl in “Clifford, the big red dog” and then I considered Cathi, but isn’t she a comic strip character? Becky has been on the forefront, but I envision a Becky to be a redhead with freckles.  But she has brown hair and pigtails and no freckles.  🙂 So cast your vote in poll below and if you have a suggestion, leave it in the comments and I’ll add it to the poll! So far I’ve had one vote for Cassy and one for Kiley before the poll was put up.

Do you have problems finishing your short stories? Is it because you are afraid to let your characters go? Or maybe you just don’t know how it should end. I’d love to hear what you do to finish them, so you can move on to the next one.

And I’m not the only one that seems to have the short story blues this morning! Check out Jacqueline Winn’s blog here http://jacquelinesusanwinn.wordpress.com/2013/07/28/making-a-great-start/

4 Comments

  1. I just got back from a two-week vacation myself and am having a hard time getting back to writing. Any suggestions on how to get back into writing would be great!
    As for ending my novels–I always know how I want them to end them before I write them, but I don’t WANT them to end. That’s why I look ahead to the next book. I know I’m not saying goodbye but just “see ya later!” Even my new series will see my old friends from time to time. Richelle Mead did this effectively in her Vampire Academy and subsequent series. I never have a problem reading more because I know I’ll get a glimpse of my beloved characters. (Can’t wait till the movie comes out!)

    Like

  2. Just keep writing, Karen. I’m in such a slump right now– of my own making– that I fear sitting down at my desk. It will pass, but I do envy you and your writing!

    Like

    • Hi Dannie! Well I’m trying to keep writing, but…squirrel! Did someone say squirrel? LOL! So many distractions! And that fear of sitting down at the desk? Know that one too well right now. 😦 Hang in there! Hey how’s the house coming? Are you enjoying the new surroundings?

      Like

Leave a Reply

