karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

Please Welcome, Heidi Angell to, Show Me Your Cover!

   Hi Heidi and thank you for joining us at Karen’ Different Corners. Please tell us how you went about designing your cover for,

“Elements of a Broken Mind”

   Another author, John Harrison, created the image I used for the cover with the promise that I’ll help edit his next book. I did the rest of the cover design myself using a nifty piece of software author Dawn Husted recommended, which can be found here: http://pixlr.com/express/ and then importing the final image into Indesign and playing with the tools in there!
I am quite pleased with how well the cover came out, but I could be biased! I’ve been pleased with all of my covers as soon as I finish them, but then I go back and look at them in a line and am very impressed with how much my skills have grown in cover design! After I finish the next cover, I may find this one just not as impressive.
ElementsofaBrokenMindCS
Here is my back cover blurb:
 Grant Anderson is a small-town detective whose job was quiet and easy, until three girls end up dead. A serial killer is stalking the young ladies in his town. Without the high tech equipment of big cities at his fingers, Grant must rely on good old-fashioned police work; but with no discernible pattern and no clues to follow, the case seems to be grinding to a halt.

Then Grant gets a visit from a mysterious young woman. Who is Clear Angel? What is her connection to the case? If Grant is to believer her, then he must accept that she has “seen” these things. But Grant is a professional. He cannot believe in psychics! Yet when another girl goes missing, and Grant’s search is yielding nothing he is desperate enough to try.

Clear Angel has always been special. Seclusion has kept the nightmares at bay. Then the nightmares begin again. Are they premonitions
of events to come? Are they the sick fantasies of a madman?
Then one evening she runs into a stranger
and finds out that not only are they real, but they are happening here in her home town. After a lifetime of running and hiding from what she can do, she is now forced to reach out to the most unlikely person in an effort to save innocent girls and perhaps the world.

Grant and Clear team up to stop a madman bent on the destruction of the world. As their feelings for one another grow, they try to deny them. But when Clear goes missing, Grant must face his feelings and save her before it is too late.

 
And finally, here is the link to the Smashwords page (it is the only one that is live yet!) https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/325771#longdescr

Thanks Heidi for sharing your cover! And for all of my friends, if you are like me and prefer a paperback copy find it HERE on Amazon

And I got the fireworks photo from Morgue File The photo was uploaded there by Pippalou and you can find her Here

3 Comments

  1. Thanks so much for letting me share!

    Like

    • Thank you for sharing! And see I remembered the fireworks!

      Like

      • Heidi

        And they are lovely fireworks too!

        Like

Leave a Reply

