karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

Janine McCaw, Show me your Cover!

    Hi Janine! And welcome to Karen’ s Different corners. Before we begin I have a confession to make 🙂 We’ve followed each other on twitter for quite a while now and have recently connected on Goodreads, but it wasn’t until you contacted me for, “Show me your Cover” that I realized that the twitter Janine was the same person as the Goodreads Janine. I guess it’s because of the different pictures used for the different sites. I’m so embarrassed, but I am very happy you are here.
Please tell us about your cover for your novel,
Helens-of-Troy.
    It was designed by myself, Janine McCaw and my brother Tom McCaw.  The house actually only had two stories, but we needed a third, so we added one! The three books planned for the series will all have character homes on the covers. Home is where the heart is. Or is being ripped out. You never know with the Helens.
Bookcover
DESCRIPTION: 
 
“The Gilmore Girls meet Buffy the Vampire Slayer.”
 

Fifteen year old Goth-chic Ellie has a lot of explaining to do. She’s just moved to the small town of Troy, fought with her uptight mother Helen, met the boy of her dreams and found a dead body on her sexy “new-age” grandmother Helena’s porch. All on the first night!

 But Ellie’s not alone. Helen is hiding something. Helen knows all about the kind of eerie dreams her daughter is having — the dreams that show the whereabouts of the missing children of Troy — because she’s had them herself. But she’ll never admit it. Not while Ellie’s sex-crazed friend Ryan is safely behind bars for the murders. Helen knows what it’s like to be attracted to dangerous men.

 Then there’s the little matter between Helena and Gaspar Bonvillaine, the teenaged vampire who is learning to feed on young prey. Now that he’s caught Ellie, he doesn’t know whether he wants to kill her or turn her to the dark side and keep her forever. Helena should have finished him off when she had the chance.

 To survive the vampire feeding frenzy surrounding them, mom Helen needs to come to terms with her own insecurities and deal with the gifts she has. Helena must learn to ground herself for the good of mankind and more importantly her own family. And Ellie has the toughest choice of all. Ellie must decide whether its time to let her own childhood go and become the woman she is destined to be, one of the ageless and timeless “Helens of Troy”.

You can pick up your copy of, “Helens of Troy”  HERE

I want to thank you for sharing your cover with us, but before I let you slip away, I have a couple of questions, that maybe you could answer in the comments section for us.  Since many new authors find themselves (due to budgets) designing their own covers is there a certain program that you and your brother use that you could recommend?  Also where do you get your photos for the cover? I personally use morgue file and Dreamstime for mine, along with photos I take myself, but if you use a different source on the web, we’d love to know. I’m sorry, I know I should have asked before posting and once again, Thank You. 

6 Comments

  1. LOL! I’m not really a zombie, I just play one on Twitter! I found the Helens on Shutterstock. I hadn’t heard of your sources, I will have to check them out, as I’m looking for another character house for the sequel. I think the design was done in Photoshop. I will ask Tom and confirm.

    Like

    • The house actually only had two stories, but we needed three so Tom solved that. And the original shot of the house had trees and bushes in the way. Through the magic, they disappeared. Tom wanted you to know that. And since he hasn’t corrected me on my Photoshop guess, it must be right.

      Like

      • Are you sure you’re not a zombie? LOL! Maybe we should get Tom into designing covers as a side job. He did a really good job with yours.

        Like

  2. Great cover!

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Wrapping up, Show Me Your Cover! | karensdifferentcorners

Leave a Reply

