karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

Show me your Cover with Queen of Spades

    I first met Queen of Spades when we connected for the All Author’s Blog Blitz. She hosted me on her blog   “A Queen’s Ramblings” and I hosted her here on mine, but in the meantime she had commented on my Goodreads blog post about, Judging a Book by its Cover” and wanted to know if I was still accepting covers and I  told her that I was working on, “Show Me Your Cover” where I would be featuring a cover a day for 30 days.
    So let me introduce you, once again, to Queen of Spades.
I want to thank you for wanting to share your cover with us and I keep forgetting to mention that I love your personal quoteAnyone can be a fool but the one who realizes it and admits it is on the path to wisdom.–Queen of Spades”

    And without further ado, here is the cover for Reflections of Soul and how it came about!

    First the Design Concept:  A lot of it was based on the content of the poetry collection.  A lot of the pieces are a mix of self-discovery, loss, and being able to see glimpses of hope through the darkness.  I wanted colors to reflect that, which is where the black (darkness), red (pain), and pink (glimmer of hope) ambiance surfaced.  In addition, I wanted to do something to represent reflections (like in a mirror) but not one’s typical reflection (or the mirror being cracked).

For that, I needed additional help and sought out Fancy Face Kreations (http://www.fancyfacekreations.blogspot.com) for assistance with the rest of the design.  She came up with the brick wall background, the fancy mirror, and the broken heart.  I fell in love with the design!
The first cover
reflections-frontcover
However, due to formatting complications associated with CreateSpace (Amazon), I had to get the original design tweaked, and for that I had to turn to Mr. Anthony J.F. Minter.  I told him to keep the specifics as close as possible to Fancy Face’s original design while making CreateSpace happy.  He was able to do that, which resulted in the first and second design being used for my book covers instead of the original.  (I do still use the original FFK design as it pertains to any marketing endeavors on this collection)
**This is why in my documentation I give both Fancy Face Kreations and Mr. Minter credit as far as illustration to my design on this work.**
And  this is the final cover
Reflections_of_Soul_Cover_for_Kindle
   And then the Blurb:  Inspiration is all around but what happens when inspiration from one impacts facets of another’s self?Reflections of Soul takes one on this poetic journey–a voyage coated in bittersweet waves: paying homage to the inspiration while gaining necessary closure on the impact after the bond met its’ death.
   And finally I found Queen’s Creative Progress of Reflections of Soul quite interesting and I thought you might also and maybe even some of you can relate!
   It has been about seven years since I’ve actively published.  Private Pain, although I think the work was needed and necessary, proved to be a lot more exhausting on an emotional scale than originally anticipated.  I felt extremely exposed, and I wasn’t sure if I would be that comfortable in sharing in that way again.  I did that work, and there were so many things going on in the background.  It was a miracle that work even made it into print.
 
I never stopped writing, although there were moments when the writer’s blocks were expansive.  Writing had gotten to the point where it no longer healed me but amplified the pain.  I didn’t even want to blog as much.
 
Once my long term relationship ended, I was running on below E, yet I didn’t know how long it would take for me to even get back to where I was, much less at E.  I had lost so much of who I was, and then I wondered if I ever defined who I was to begin with.
 
Before the relationship became an unstable roller coaster, there was a great deal of inspiration.  This drove me to compose a collection inspired by the writings of this other person.  These pieces were written in the span of about three months back in the year 2003.  After the disillusion of the bond in 2008, I debated as to whether to destroy these pieces, since I could not look at them in the beginning without all of the negative things flowing back in.
 
Each time I started to, a voice would say, “Queen, don’t do it.”
 
Then, I would set it aside. 
 
One day, earlier this year, while doing a bit of Spring Cleaning, I discovered the collection again.  This time around, I didn’t feel the anger or the twinge of pain.  I just felt an appreciation for the work and was glad for the inspiration behind it.  I realized I still had things I wanted to say.  I also realized the only way I could really put things behind me was to go ahead and publish the work.
Also, check out her other project, The Review Board. Where she  loves helping others by providing thorough, honest critiques along with her cohort, Andrew Boyd.  Just deem them the Siskel and Ebert of critique.
 You can find Reflections of Soul  on Amazon (both as a paperback and on Kindle).  The link is below:
Reflections of Soul: Queen of Spades (formatted link)
 
Thanks a lot, Karen, for giving me a chance to participate in this.
And Thank you, Queen of Spades, for sharing your cover with us.

8 Comments

  1. Reblogged this on No Labels…Unleashed and commented:
    I am honored to be featured as part of the “Show Me Your Cover” series, hosted by Karen Einsel! Check out the feature below!

    Like

    • And thank you once again. I loved hearing how your cover came about and the changes it went through.

      Like

  2. “Anyone can be a fool but the one who realizes it and admits it is on the path to wisdom.–Queen of Spades”

    Beautiful words of wisdom, Monica. I know exactly what that means. For me, it started when I was ten years old. My father had this very special mug that he held over from his time in the Royal Dutch Marines. He cherished it. One day, as I was washing dishes, I accidentally dropped it and it shattered. I was shattered. How was I going to tell my father that I’d broken his most cherished keepsake from a time he was so proud of? Well, I decided, then and there, that I would just tell the truth, and when I took that path, I suddenly felt relieved; as if a ton was lifted off of my shoulders. How it ended? He forgave me and was proud that I was honest about it. I’ve lived by that ever since. I don’t suffer fools easily, but most especially, when I’m that fool.

    I loved how you thought about the cover for “Reflections of Soul”. It was poignant and touching. It also inspires me to write a better description about how I came to designing my own book cover for “For Elise”. Karen will feature me on June 21st, and I couldn’t be happier.

    Warmest,
    Cat

    Like

    • What a beautiful story, Cat. And I am honored to have you share your cover with us. I hope you are having a wonderful day!

      Like

      • Thank you, Karen. Yes, I’m having a very productive day, and it looks like a busy one. 🙂 But I like those days. I hope you’re having a wonderful day, too.

        Warmest <3<3 ❤
        Cat

        Like

      • I have had a productive day so far. Which is a good thing, right? 🙂 I posted a new post on my other blog today and one yesterday. You can find it here http://differentcornersinmylife.blogspot.com/ and so far I have laundry in, dishes soaking, bathrooms cleaned, and bed made! Now I am off to walmart to pick up ink and paper for my printer so I can print up invitations for my step mom’s 90th birthday party, which is July 7th. I better get busy!

        Like

  3. Thanks for your feedback, Cat 🙂

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Wrapping up, Show Me Your Cover! | karensdifferentcorners

Leave a Reply

