karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

Your Book, Your Title

I’m on a blog roll! LOL

So let’s talk about titles today. How did you come up with the title of your book in progress?

Or your current book that’s been published?

Or one of your past books?

Do you go to Amazon or Barnes and Noble and put in your book’s title, before you publish it?

You should.

I have a story  in an anthology that is titled, “Love is in the Air” And if you go to Amazon and search for it, it comes up on the third page. There are so many books, CD’s, and DVD’s with this title or associated with these words.

Make your title unique. When someone types in your title you want it to come up first.

When I started writing “Judged by the Cover” I tried out all kinds of different titles.  As you can see here; 002

And as I told you on my last post, I started writing a poem, that is turning into a children’s picture book. So I started thinking about titles.

“Happy to be, Just me! This right here will bring up countless titles on Amazon. Especially the “Just Me” part which is associated with the little critters series of books for children. Such as “Just me and dad” Just me and mom” etc.

So that didn’t work. Then I tried “House of Mirrors” Yeah there are a lot of those too! In fact, when I did a search for “House of Mirrors”

yesterday, I found this book 51osoIZ-y4L._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-69,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_

http://www.amazon.com/House-of-Mirrors-ebook/dp/B00C9817MG

And I should have posted my blog post yesterday, because the book was free! But it is still reasonable to buy at 99 cents.

Well that’s my take on titles. What’s yours? How do you come up with your title? Do you search for it before you get your heart set on it? Does it represent your book?

Here is a link to another look at book titles on “Writing Novels That Sell”

http://writingnovelsthatsell.com/book-title-debates-name-your-novel-something-provocative/2013/05/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=twitter&utm_campaign=

Feed%3A+WritingNovelsThatSell+%28Writing+Novels+That+Sell%29&utm_content=FaceBook

Happy Thursday everyone and hang in there the weekend is just around the corner! Woot! Woot!

6 Comments

  1. For my first book, I had the title ready to go – got it off the name of a TV show episode. For the second, I brainstormed words related to the subject matter and also looked at titles on Amazon and B&N. Still not completely happy with it, but no one else is using it either!

    Like

    • Still not completely happy with it? Yeah, I go through that too. Just look at all the different ones for Judged by the cover, but, not having anyone else with the same title is a very good thing! Especially if someone tweets it out without a link. Or if you hear about a book that you want to look up, it’s much better that the intended book comes up first on the list!

      Like

  2. Titles are SO hard. Most of the time they come last. Sometimes I think I have a title and it morphs along the way. And, yes, I always do a check to see how many and what manner of other books might already be entitled (so to speak) before I make mine official.

    Like

    • I know what you mean about morphing! I can start out with a firm title, or so I think, and by the time I finish the story, the title has changed dramatically.

      Like

  3. All of my titles are with me even before I start to write, except my latest book. I do Google to see what comes up. Sometimes having the same or a close title to other works will work in your favor– if your book sells– that puts it at the top of searches.
    I wanted to change the title of my last book– a thriller– but first readers and editors liked it, so it stayed as Death’s Door.

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Titles Revisited | The Daily Racewood

Leave a Reply

