karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

My Different Perspective and a Review

I have written a couple of short stories for “The Short Story Group’s” anthologies and have just finished reading the current one

“Love is in the Air”

LIITA3

Loved it! I am terrible at writing reviews…So let’s just talk about short story collections and anthologies.  The great thing about them is, you get to try all types of writing styles from all kinds of different authors. It’s like going into Baskin Robbins and getting one of those tiny pink spoons of different flavored ice cream! All the stories in, “Love is in the Air” are unique and well written. Even mine! Haha!

Okay let’s talk about a different perspective. You know how it is when someone else reads your work and they see it differently then you?

Well first, my story is titled “The Valentine’s Dream” and James Smith whose story is, “Relationship Building” Good story by the way. I really enjoyed it. Anyway James was the one doing the publishing this time and when he read my story, he emailed me back with some changes. But after a couple of changes to my story, I was like, “Wait! You’re changing the concept of the story!” So I sent it to a friend and asked her what she thought and she emailed me back and told me to toss the readers another bone. If you don’t know what that means, it’s basically telling me I needed to add a little more, but with me being stubborn, I left it the way I had written it. It’s a good story, but after I received the paperback in the mail, I reread it and yes, it needed just another line or two to clarify what I was getting at. So if you have read it or plan on reading it, let me clarify a couple of things.

Bald head signifies chemo.

Heart beat or the day his heart stopped beating only signifies life and love.

Salt and pepper hair signifies time’s passing

Confusion and forgetfulness and the scar across his scalp signifies…You’ll figure it out.

This should have had a little more info,

Sarah looks up and smiles as Mark approaches. ‘Since we got married. Don’t tell me you’ve forgotten our anniversary?’
Mark grins, ‘I will never forget our anniversary. It is a day I look forward to every year. But you on the other hand seem to be shocked that we have lasted this long.’

‘I’m not shocked, just surprised that’s all. It seems as if it was just yesterday that we said I do. Are you ready to go?’

‘As ready as I’ll ever be.’

My friend, Cecilia, said, “Go? Go where? Where are they and where are they going?” Or something to that effect. Anyway I should have added at least two more sentences. So it could have read,

Sarah looks up, and smiles as the nurse parks Mark’s wheelchair in front of her. ‘Since we got married. Don’t tell me you’ve forgotten our anniversary?’

Mark grins, ‘I will never forget our anniversary. It is a day I look forward to every year. But you on the other hand seem to be shocked that we have lasted this long.’

‘I’m not shocked, just surprised that’s all. It seems as if it was just yesterday that we said I do. Are you ready to go? Did they get all the x-rays done?’

‘As ready as I’ll ever be, and yes, they finished all of my x-rays.’

Sarah stands up and moves behind Mark’s wheelchair. Smiling at the nurse she tells her, “I can take him back to his room.”

This sentence just needed a couple of words “Shoulder to shoulder they sit on the bed” I should have written, “Shoulder to shoulder they sit on his hospital bed.”

Okay…Well, now that I have confused you. Pick up, “Love is in the Air”  The e-book is just $2.99 and remember all proceeds go to Diabetes UK.

As for me, I’m still learning.

Leave a Reply

