karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

Reading Reviews

Yep, I’ve been reading reviews…Again. Not mine, but other author’s. “I want reviews 😦 Yeah me! See me? Hey you! (Jumping up and down. Waving arms wildly in air)

“Me?”  You ask.

“Yes you! I want reviews. Did you read one of my books? Bought it or picked it up for free? Did you read it? I don’t care if you give me good reviews or bad reviews. Whether you hated it or loved it, I WANT REVIEWS!” 

Okay. I’m better now. Another author has one of his books for free right now and even though I bought it last year, (Hangs head in shame) I haven’t read it yet, but I always like to help out and tweet and shout it out. Anyway, I was reading some of his 1 and 2 star reviews, and one reviewer told him to read books by, Elmore Leonard, to see how great dialogue is written.  So of course that sent me off course to check out a few of Elmore’s books and…It all comes down to, “Not everyone is going to like the way you write and you can’t please all the people all the time!”

I am working on a book, loosely based on my blog posts titled, “Judging a Book by it’s Cover” And I am trying my best to give it some…Umpf? I don’t know…I guess I am trying to give it more substance. More story. More descriptions. Right now it is probably 75% dialogue, but I know it needs more…Oh shoot, I’m babbling again 🙂

Okay here’s the Amazon link for Andy Holloman’sShades of Gray” 51-oaqjrdxL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-35,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_

http://www.amazon.com/Shades-of-Gray-ebook/dp/B006FZLBF2

It’s free today! Remember if you pick it up, read it, and leave a review!

8 Comments

  1. gelakel

    Remember not to change it too much! You can rework too much sometimes because you have read and gone over it so much-you know the story inside out, that you feel it’s missing something, when actually it doesnt!

    As for too much dialogue. Is there such a thing – I know there are ‘rules’ when writing but personally I like dialogue, one of my books is very high in dialogue. Think it’s personal preference thing, wouldn’t worry too much about it.

    Good luck with it xx

    Like

    • Hi Angela! I’m not really reworking or editing anything out, but actually trying to add more story line descriptions in.I tend to make the reader read between the lines too much lately. I’ve got to find that fine line between, telling too much and not enough. 🙂 Even with my short story, The Valentine’s Dream, that’s in our new collection, two people, (James and another friend of mine.) have told me it was confusing as to what was wrong with my hero. I know that some people who have been affected by his disease will get it as soon as they read the line, “She kissed his bald head”, And some won’t, but I didn’t want to change the story line for it. 🙂

      Like

  2. I reviewed “The Good Dr. Grant” on Goodreads http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/534988788
    and will post it on Amazon too!! COME and be a guest on my blog profiling it PLEASE???
    Thanks and lots of love, Emily

    Like

  3. Write what you feel. Don’t get caught up in other people telling us as writers what makes a book good or bad. It’s just one persons opinion. It has amazed me that I received 2 two star reviews but 5 five star reviews for my last book. Some reviews are just going for the jugular and enjoy trashing other authors. After some research I have found that often these mean spirited reviews are by other authors. Even as a reviewer, I try to be as constructive as possible and if I am unable to give a good review I do not posted it on my blog. Instead I let the author know what I have a problem with and make some suggestions. Bottom line Karen, DO YOU GIRLFRIEND!!

    Like

    • Morning Kimmie!
      Oh I don’t really worry what others say. Well not too much…I do want people to like the stories I write, but I am always open to constructive criticism. I just can’t believe how some people bash other’s work.

      Like

  4. I’m getting so bad about reading good books and being very slow in reviewing. I wasn’t always like that. Have to get busy after my trip to the States.

    Like

Leave a Reply

