karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

Reviews!

I read some books this weekend! And watched some movies!

What can I say…I didn’t really feel all that great so I made it a lazy weekend.

First the books

41InlQte3lL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-63,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_Rag Doll by Rebecca Scarberry

Mystery

I loved the beginning. The character and setting descriptions were exceptional. She did lose me when she went into back story. It made me feel as if she veered off-course, (Kind of like the way I feel when I listen to the guitar riff of Alice Cooper’s Poison song. I always feel like the guitarist slipped or stumbled during that part, but it is my favorite Alice Cooper song)  but she pulled it back together with a surprise ending. Overall I’d give it a 4 star.

41bcGz4JQkL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-71,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_A Strange Place by Anne M. Carpenter

Mystery

This was another short book. The story was great, but I think she could have put a little more into it. Developed the story line a little bit more and added more character and scene descriptions. But overall, I’d give it a 4 star.

51K3LWbQi5L._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-59,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_The Emotion Thesaurus by Becca Puglisi and Angela Ackerman

Non-fiction

Whether you are new to writing or have been writing for years, I highly recommend “The Emotion Thesaurus”

They take different emotions from A-Z showing you the

DEFINITION
PHYSICAL SIGNALS
INTERNAL SENSATIONS
MENTAL RESPONSES

And more, to help you get your character’s thoughts and emotions across in very effective ways, helping you to create a more enjoyable read for your readers. This is one book to keep handy and read often!

Okay now for the movies!

The Medallion  and Who Am I? starring Jackie Chan

I enjoyed both movies, but then I like Jackie Chan. He’s a funny and energetic guy. And now I am kicking myself for not going to last year’s comic con in San Diego! Yep, he was there!

Both movies had a lot of action, which is a given with Jackie Chan movies, but I also felt both movies were a little far-fetched. 🙂

Would I watch them again? Yes, if they were on, but personally, I wouldn’t go out of my way to buy or rent them.

Here Comes The Boom! starring Kevin James

I wasn’t really into a movie watching mood, but my son put it on anyway. It was good. I have never really been a fan of “King of Queens” But I like Kevin James. He is in my top ten faves! He’s a great actor, funny, and cute 🙂 I won’t tell you what the story is about, because I am terrible at that, but it had the good guy (Kevin James) trying to do the good things for everyone, with a classic HEA.

Watch it, you won’t be disappointed! 

Well that was my weekend, mostly reading and watching movies, but I did manage to get in a little, editing and revising of my WIP, and A lot of sleep! Tuesday night I will have a new Wednesday’s Wonder interview with, Katherine Hetzel, from the short story group, so make sure to drop by and see what freaks her out!

Till then,  Have a Great Day!

Oops! Almost forgot to share my horoscope for today! Yep, it’s a good one!

MONDAY, FEB 11, 2013
At the moment, Aquarius, the planets are aligned in a way that encourages communication and the written word. Therefore, you may feel like taking the plunge and writing that book you’ve been thinking about for a long time. It will probably be a great success. You’re very gifted when it comes to this kind of creative activity. Go for it and stop making excuses!

6 Comments

  1. Hi Karen: I’m so glad you would give my short story, RAG DOLL 4 *s. I tried to give that book an Alfred Hitchcock feel. Thank you for taking the time to read it and post it on your lovely site. Much appreciated. Rebecca Scarberry (Scarberryfields on Twitter)

    Like

    • Hi Rebecca! No problem. It was a very good story. Now I just need to finish reading your other one. 🙂

      Like

  2. The books look good, maybe I will get to read them soon. I would love to see the Kevin James movie, he is awesome and so adorable. The girls and I are huge King of Queens fans too. Nice post, Karen. Hope you are feeling better.

    Like

    • Hi Stacy
      The books were good and being shorter stories they are quick reads. When you get a chance to see Here Comes the Boom, let me know what you think 🙂 And I am feeling better. Thank you 🙂

      Like

  3. You call that a lazy weekend. I need to give you some lessons in relaxing, lol.

    Like

Leave a Reply

