karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

A Challenge and the Local Writer’s Group

I’m so proud of myself, I finally got up the courage to go check out the writer’s group at my local library. I know, most of you are thinking, “But you are so outgoing, why would you need to get up courage to go?” Actually, when I meet people in person, I am very shy and quiet. Or I tend to ramble on, sounding like an idiot. Kind of like what I do on here. 🙂

Anyway, I had no idea what you do in a writer’s group, and I’m sure it varies, group by group, so I wanted to share just a bit about this one. The people were all nice and friendly. The moderator for the week was Marie, and the first thing she had us do was write down our favorite color, favorite animal, favorite scent, favorite flavor, and favorite place to be, and then we were to  write a paragraph or two, using our answers. I sat back and listened as one by one the others read what they had written, and then Marie asked me if I wanted to share mine, but she also told me I didn’t have to, if I didn’t want to. (See she even caught on that I was quiet and shy 🙂 ) But I told her, I’d read it, but before I did, I had to comment that they all write in the first person POV, and I write in the 3rd person POV, did she want me to change it? I could, no problem, but she said no. (Now if you have followed my blog for awhile, you know I like to write dialogue and that descriptions are my weakness.) So I read what I had written, and I had dialogue at the end, and Marie says, Wow, she even put dialogue in. To which I mumbled something like; “It’s a habit I have.” Frankly, I wanted to hide, because it felt like everyone was looking at me, but I will go back. It wasn’t quite what I expected. There was no critiquing or helpful advice, and the reason I wanted to check it out was, I was hoping to find help with my weaknesses. But one good thing has come from it.

A Challenge. And we all know I love a good challenge. So here goes…

Which point of view do you write in?

Write a paragraph or short story in a POV that you don’t normally write in. I’m not going to tag anyone, but if you accept the challenge you can either share it in the comments or post it on your blog and share the link to it in the comments. I will attempt to write a paragraph or two, in first person point of view and share it on my blog on Monday! Maybe I’ll write it in both and you can tell me how I did.

Okay, on your marks, get set, and go! I’ll see ya at the finish line!

 

11 Comments

  1. Hi Emily! I was supposed to be posting my shine award here also, but I got to rambling. I will have it up tomorrow! Hugs!

    Like

  2. That’s great that you joined the group. If the people are any good at critiquing (whether or not they are good writers themselves) it will be great for you.

    Your challenge is. . . challenging. I write in both 1st person and 3rd person (though my best novels are 1st person–it lends itself better to letting my inconvenient sense of humor in). So that would mean I’d need to write in 2nd person–not something I’m keen on. If I get inspired, though, I’ll try.

    Like

  3. Hi Karen, I really wish I had read you post this morning. I so flaked my writer’s group meeting this morning. I just chickened out. Not sure what my hang up is, but I hope to figure it out before the meeting next month.
    I am so proud of you, too. I have been bouncing back and forth between 1st and third POV in my daily writing challenges. I think I am leaning toward loving 1st person. As long and I can get past the person not sounding like me.

    Like

    • I haven’t done too much with first person, so for me it’ll be a challenge. I have known about this writer’s group for months! Don’t chicken out next month. I want to know what yours is like!

      Like

  4. Glad you enjoyed your writers’ group experience, Karen. I’ve been a regular attendee at a local group here in Southern Maryland for about three years now. It is essentially a critiquing group. Every meeting, people bring along stuff to share. It gets read out and then everyone has a chance to make comments. I’ve found it invaluable, not just because it has undoubtedly improved my writing, but because it has also allowed me to develop a way in which I can effectively critique the work of others.
    As far as your challenge goes, I wrote my first novel entirely in the first person. The sequel (due out in the Spring) is written in both first and third person and from a variety of POVs. So. My contribution is the most recent post on my blog at http://stuarthaddon.com/2013/01/16/a-touch-of-writing-in-the-night/ which is written in the third person from an “external’ narrator’s POV.

    Like

    • Hi Stuart
      I’ll go check them out. I write mostly in the third person POV, so I checked out a couple of blog posts with a little more details on the differences between POV’s and think I will stay with third person, but it’s always good to experience the others. I did enjoy the writer’s group, but mainly for the connection to local writers, but from the first meeting, I’m thinking…Hmm…It’s more like a support group. No matter what anyone wrote, everyone clapped, and said good job. 🙂 But we will see how it goes next month with a different moderator. 🙂 Okay headed to your blog!

      Like

      • rebeccadouglass

        That’s less helpful, I think. But you may be able to make connections with people with whom you can exchange more meaningful critiques. My little writers group (three if us who were friends from graduate school) does our feedback on paper (or virtual paper) so that when we are actually together we can focus on talking about our lives/kids/husbands. 🙂

        Like

      • I think so too, Rebecca, because I want more. I tend to analyze everything and I want constructive criticism.

        Like

  5. I won’t share what I did, but I do want to thank you.. I’m going to do this again like a warm up before I start a scene.

    Great post. 🙂

    Like

    • And Thank you. I am working on the 3 POV’s now and will have them posted on Monday. If you get a chance stop by and let me know what you think.

      Like

Leave a Reply

