karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

Take a Chance On Me!

A couple of weeks ago my niece posted on her blog about character personalities and where do you come up with them, so this morning I was making copies of personality traits I had found on the internet for her.

Personally, I don’t have that problem. I get ideas from TV, the internet, music, and people around me. I can can come up with a character and describe them, their personality, their idiosyncrasies, etc.

And I don’t have a problem with the story line. I can take you from beginning, middle, and end.

We have been doing a writer’s exercise challenge here on my blog  here https://karensdifferentcorners.wordpress.com/2012/10/21/the-writing-exercise-challenge/ and here https://karensdifferentcorners.wordpress.com/2012/10/16/a-challenge-interested/

Any way I thought my problem with writing had to do with descriptions, but… It’s not the descriptions themselves, but the way I write them. I tend to tell and not show. Even though (pat myself on my back) I think I did pretty good with my description only part of the exercise, now if I can remember to keep working at it and keep learning, I think I’ll be okay.

My son has been looking for a job and last week he got a call and did a phone interview (His first one!) and we were talking about it and as always they ask you, what type of experience do you have? I told him (after the fact) that you need to tell them, “You can read and write, follow directions, are a self starter, and that you can work on your own with no problems as long as you know what’s expected of you.” The problem he runs into is, he has no experience, so he gets turned down and yet how will he ever get experience if no one takes a chance on him?

In 2001 my car was broke down. I wasn’t working at the time and was going to college and I needed a rental.  Looking in the phone book there were two rental car companies in my area and I called both, but I took a chance with the lessor known “Rent A Wreck” over “Enterprise” As fate would have it Rent A Wreck was looking for a part time employee. I applied and a week later the wife called me in for an interview. I had no experience in the rental car field, but was hired to drop off and pick up customers and clean cars, or so I thought. The first week the husband, David, who I was to be working with, said, “Okay Karen lets teach you to write a contract.” I was like, “Uh uh, I wasn’t hired for that.” but he insisted. Two months in I still felt I wasn’t competent enough and had consider quitting, but everyone I worked with reassured me I was doing just fine. Let me explain, I am a slow typer. Actually I hunt and peck with two fingers. (How I managed to type, let alone write, a 50,000 word novel for NaNoWriMo last year is beyond me) About a week later a customer came in and I started writing his contract and David walked over and told me, “Let me do it Karen, you’re too slow and he’s in a hurry.” The customer stopped him, “No, let Karen do it. She’s doing fine and I’m not in that much of a hurry.” The customer left with a smile on his face, but it couldn’t match the big grin on mine. All these people took a chance on me. I stayed with the company for 8 years, even moved up to management position. Funny thing is, If I went to Enterprise and applied for a job today, I wouldn’t qualify, because I don’t have a Bachelor’s degree in business, nor am I working towards one.

We as writers want the same thing. We want people to take a chance on us. Everyone has to start somewhere. Someone took a chance on Stephen King, J.K. Rowling, Bradley, and E.L. James.

Which brings me to reviews. Pick up our books, read them, and please leave us a review. It doesn’t matter if it’s a 1 star or a 5 star or somewhere in between, but don’t bash us. Doesn’t the saying go something like, “You have to walk a mile in someone’s shoes, before you can begin to understand what they are going through.” Be honest. Tell us what you thought we did wrong. Tell us what you felt we did right. If you liked the story, but our writing could use some help, tell us. We can’t learn and grow if we don’t realize what we are doing wrong.  If you feel our work was so bad that leaving us a review might humiliate us, send us a message. Personally, I can use all the help I can get. I’m new to all of this. I can’t tell you I wrote my first story when I was 6, nor 12, or even 40. I just started writing a year and a half ago. I was tired of not having enough to keep me occupied and had a story in my head. (It is still waiting to be edited. It’s the 4th book of Chris’ Journey) But I didn’t have a clue as to how to write a book. I had to google it 🙂 And as I continue to write, I continue to learn and grow.

And one last thought. Analyze your reviews. If you get a 1 star review like, “This book was just stupid. I hated it and it were written so porely, I could even finish it.” Wait a minute did you see my typos in there? If you get a 1 star review like that, don’t cry over it, shine it on.  People reading those types of reviews, will buy the book just to see if the reviewer even has a clue. Learn to read between the lines. If you get a 2 star review that says something like, “There were quite a few grammatical errors and misspelled words, but I did enjoy the friendship between the bee and the cat. If this story was revised, edited, and rewritten, it could someday be adapted into a screenplay.” They aren’t bashing you! They like your story! I’m not telling you to go back and rewrite your story, but learn from this review.

To sum it up, All we ask is for you to take a chance on us and if you do, please leave us a review.

Okay well now that I have taken up your time. 🙂 I hope you all have a wonderful, wacky, and productive day!

Oh and check out the new blog I’m following!

http://unearthlyfiction.wordpress.com/2012/09/17/ray-bradbury-writing-tips/#comment-51

3 Comments

  1. What a great post from the heart! I hope many people hear you. I personally love reviews and do try to review every book I enjoy. If it’s not my taste I usually do not write a review. But you are right– even 1 star reviews have some merit and are a step in learning.

    Like

    • Hi again Dannie. Thank you. Another writer friend sends me a message every time she gets a 1, 2, or 3 star review and she’s usually in tears, and since I like to analyze everything, I go and check out her reviews and point out the good and bad for her. I keep telling her send the reviewers my way! Even the 1 stars. I’ll take them.LOL!

      Like

  2. Great post, Karen. Thank you for following my humble blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

