karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

Personalities! Where do you find them?

This is just a spur of the moment post to help my niece who has recently started blogging and writing.

Here’s her link http://stacyfarr2.wordpress.com/ And you can stop reading my post and go directly to hers, if you want 🙂 Or you can keep reading here and then go to hers 🙂

In my niece’s blog she was talking about her characters being based on family and friends, but she was having problems with giving depth to her characters, because all the people she knows are “Nice” Hey wonder if that includes me? Haha!

Anyway it got me to thinking, how do you give your characters depth and unique personalities?

If I look at myself, I can be funny, compassionate, cranky, shy, and quiet. I have my own views on politics, religion, and life in general. I’m stubborn, love a good debate, but will give in and walk away when I know there is no way to convince the other person to see my side, even if they don’t agree with it.

Okay so those are some things to look at when creating a character, but what else can we do to give them depth?

Do they twirl their hair around their finger when they are nervous? Stand toe to toe, nose to nose with someone when they are mad? Do they scream and yell to get their point across, or do they clam up and give the person they are mad at the silent treatment?

Those are just a few. How do you give your characters unique personalities and depth?

Here’s her link again 🙂 http://stacyfarr2.wordpress.com/

And to end this post…Did you know I’m a horoscope junkie? Yep I love to read my horoscopes every day! Here’s one from today and I’m an Aquarius

 

October 07, 2012
The planetary energy might find you responding to a sudden sense of inspiration that arouses your creativity. You may feel an unexpected urge to write, paint, draw, or compose some music. You may want to sequester yourself, which could cause some problems with friends and family members who want to be with you. Don’t ignore this impetus, Aquarius. As you know, inspiration can vanish as quickly as it comes.

Love it, love it, love it!

Don’t forget to stop by tomorrow as I continue my blog series on Judging a Book by it’s Cover!

Happy Sunday everyone!

 

Leave a Reply

