karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

I’ve been tagged!

I’ve been tagged in the Look Challenge by a sweet and dear friend, Paul Dorset. I was tagged last week for this same challenge on my other blog and I can tell you, I love this challenge. Being tagged lets me share a bit of my work in progress and lets me tag 5 other writers.

Here’s the way it works: You take your current manuscript and find the first instance of the word “look”. Then you post the surrounding paragraphs as an excerpt of the book on your blog. Lastly, you tag five more blogging authors who you think might be a good choice for the game.
   I am working on a new series, which is still a big secret as to the overall title and genre 🙂 But here’s an excerpt from the first book titled, “Alexiah” which is a romance of course, lol, but also a ??? This first book deals with the end of the world on 12/21/12 and I still haven’t figure out the overall genre yet.
Okay, I posted that exact same paragraph up there ^^ on my other blog, but you get a different part of my story on this blog and if you want to read the excerpt just before this one, visit my other blog here http://differentcornersinmylife.blogspot.com/

                                                                                                Christmas Day 2012
Sam nudges Alexiah awake. Groaning, Alexiah reaches over and pats Sam on the head. “Sam are you going to do this every morning?” She looks towards the door and sees the sliver of light shining through. Sitting up she stretches before looking at her watch. “Okay, I’ll get up. At least you waited till six this morning.” Alexiah rolls out of bed and slips on her jeans and shoes. “Do you know what today is Sam? It’s Christmas. The day we celebrate Jesus’ birthday. I think today we are going to attempt to use the camp cooking stove and make us a real breakfast. What do you think? Sound good?”
***
Not noticing the man that has walked up behind her, Alexiah claps her hands. “Come on Sam, bring the ball back to me.” Sam picks up the ball and runs past her. Alexiah turns around. “Sam…” And stops in mid sentence. Sam is sniffing the man’s outstretched hand. Alexiah looks him over and cautiously steps back.

   “I’m sorry. I didn’t mean to startle you. I’m Henry. I live or should say lived, in the mobile home park across the street.” Alexiah looks down at Sam who is now wagging his tail. Knowing that Sam is usually a good judge of character, Alexiah puts her hand out to Henry.
“Alexiah. I was beginning to think I was the only one left.”
“Today is the first day I’ve ventured out. I wasn’t too eager to see what awaited me.” He tells her with a nervous chuckle.
“Well as you can see, it’s probably not as bad as you imagined. Not that there is much left to look at.”
“Is today your first day out also?”
“No I’ve been out since the first day it happened. Kind of hard to keep a dog cooped up in a shelter.” Alexiah pats Sam on the head and introduces him to Henry. “This is Sam. Without him, I think I’d be totally insane. Shake Sam.” Sam puts his paw up to Henry.
Henry shakes Sam’s paw and smiles.
“Looks like you’ve got yourself a good companion. You’re the writer’s wife, aren’t you? John’s his name, right?”
Alexiah cocks her head. “How do you…”

“I used to run into him here and there. The donut shop. The hardware store. Really nice guy. He sure loved to chat.”
Alexiah smiles. “Yeah he loved to do that.”
“He…He didn’t make it?” He raises a questioning eyebrow at her.
“I don’t know. I don’t know what happened to him.”
“Yeah, I don’t know what happened to my wife either. She said she was going to get her hair done so if the world came to an end she’d look good. We would have been married 40 years tomorrow.”
Alexiah sees love and sorrow in his face. “I’m sorry.”
“Well, I guess I should go back to my shelter.”
Alexiah looks at her watch. “You hungry? I was going to make me some lunch. I’d love the company.”

Okay That’s mine, now it’s your turn 🙂

Tag you’re it!

http://emilyguido.com/

http://twdittmer.wordpress.com/

http://shereallysaidit.wordpress.com/

http://mokauthor.wordpress.com/

http://chrismartinwrites.com/

I know we are all busy and if you don’t have time, I understand. But if you do participate, I look forward to your excerpt!

Hope everyone had a great Monday and stop by tomorrow and check out the first five covers from other authors.

9 Comments

  1. Hey Karen, No pressure or anything, but when are you going to publish Alexiah because I can’t wait to read it. I am hooked already. haha.

    Like

    • Hi Sydney, I hope to have it out by the end of October, but I am working on a novelette that I want to have out by the 15th, so we will see. I’m glad you like it so far 🙂

      Like

  2. I need this. It makes me do something out of the box.

    Like

    • Good morning Kimmie
      Last week was the first time I was ever tagged. I like it because it lets others get a glimpse of your writing style

      Like

  3. THANK YOU KAREN!!!!!!!!! I’m honored and I can’t wait to give a snippet of what I have been working on!!!!!! It will have to wait until next week, until after Mactus is done being offered for free because I’m promoting that book, but Conundrum ROCKS!!! I can’t wait to share! THANK YOU AGAIN!!! I’m honored and tickled pink!!!

    Like

    • Mactus is free right now? I’m headed that way! And you are welcome, I thought you might like this and I can’t wait for your post!

      Like

    • Mactus is free right now? I’m headed that way! And you are welcome, I thought you might like this and I can’t wait for your post! oops not yet, but I just tweeted it for you 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

