karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

Taking a Break

 No not from blogging but from reading. I have started writing the second book in “Chris’ Journey” which will be titled, “A Corner For Life”  “A Corner for Life” is a story that has been in my head for a long time. Were talking 15 years or so.

My reason for not reading? Well… I published my first book “Kyle & Kelly, The Perfect Party Planner” a 12,000 word romance, in February. On my birthday to be exact and another author put out a romantic comedy in March and I found a few similarities in hers to mine,but that’s all I’ll say on that.  So I don’t like to read when I write, because I don’t want other writer’s voices and styles influencing mine.

 Now even though I write romance and I really haven’t been a reader of romance for a long time, I have found that no matter what  genre whether it be romance, paranormal, mystery, etc. there still can be similarities, sooo I won’t be reading until the first draft is done. The same goes for blogs. If you have a snippet, flash fiction, or short story on your blog, I’m sorry but until I finish the first draft, I won’t read it. I’ll share it and help you promote it, but won’t read it if it’s fiction.

 And there are a lot of great blog posts out there sharing their stories which brings me to… I received a couple of blogger awards in the last couple of weeks and I need to acknowledge them. Hugs and Thanks yous to:

 Johanna for giving me the “Lovely Blog Award” And I do apologize for being so slow!

Stop by Johanna’s  blog and say hi. She has a beautiful blog and a lot of great things to say!

http://themanicheans.wordpress.com/2012/07/09/note-to-self-151-a-life-of-its-own/

And to Ella, Thank you for “The Most Inspiring Blog Award!” I am so sorry I have been so slow accepting this lovely award. Ella is great with helping with grammar  And now I am sending you to my favorite grammar lesson on her blog and you know what? I am guilty of doing just that!  http://ellamedler.wordpress.com/2012/07/16/shortest-grammar-post-ever/

   I was also tagged on twitter and you know what? I forgot who tagged me…But I will find out and start tagging others and nominating other blogs for these wonderful awards.

 It looks like this is going to be a very busy week! And I hope to get to everything, but I have a dentist appointment today (wish me luck) and I have to give my son a ride to the college tomorrow to take his assessment test. I also have book reviews I need to put together for the books I’ve read this last month and Don’t forget! I will be interviewing “Emily Guido” http://emilyguido.com/2012/07/22/httpwp-mep2gagv-er/ tomorrow on my Wednesday Wonders.

Did I mention I need to write 🙂 Have a great week everyone!

 

 

7 Comments

  1. YEAH! I can’t wait! Thanks Karen… you ROCK!

    Like

  2. Oh, Karen, you’re right! I was tagged, too. I remember it – we were both in the same post. I will dig through posts and tell you who tagged us. How could I forget? I must be getting old 😦

    Like

    • Shhh Ella you’re not supposed to let people know we are getting old. We just have a lot of things going on right now. 🙂 How have you been? If you are like me, you probably feel like a chicken running around with their head cut off. Personally I’ve been running into my self coming and going. Yikes!

      Like

  3. Enjoy your writing!

    Like

    • Hi Dannie I will if I can get a minute from every day things that I seem to be caught up in. 🙂 Hope you are having a great week!

      Like

Leave a Reply

