karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

How to Write

No this is not a help topic, but more so… Oh I haven’t the foggiest idea what to call it. Here I say I’m a writer and I’m wordless! LOL!

I read a lot of help blogs and books on writing and some days it seems everyone has a totally (Adverb, a no-no) different view on how a book should be written. I’m a newbie to all of this. I have only been a writer for one year and one month now! When I started writing my first book, I had finished three chapters when the thought occurred to me, I really should google, “How to write a book”

So I did and I read approximately 5 to 10 blog posts on the subject and then reread what I had wrote  written and told myself I was on the right track and yet I continue to read help blogs and books. And I have come to the conclusion that there is no right way to write a book!

My biggest problem with writing is “Show vs. Tell” but I’m working on that and hopefully I’ll get better with every new book I write.

There are universal rules that should be followed such as, dialogue, plot, description, spelling and grammar, but how you put it all together should be your way. In your own unique voice and style. That’s what makes you stand out from the rest.

Some say, start your story in the middle, some say don’t give back story, Some tell you start your first page out with a conflict between your hero and heroine and don’t wait to introduce him in the second and third chapter. Ugh! Well I discussed him in the first chapter, does that count?  Sigh. I write my stories the way they play out in my head. Beginning to end. Sometimes there’s a lot of dialogue. Sometimes its descriptions. And yes, sometimes my heroine tends to talk too much.

With all the different answers, I start second guessing myself. What if I didn’t do it right? What if no one likes it? What if ??? Maybe I should just quit! But wait…I like my stories. I write them to get them out of my head. I know not everyone is going to like them. I know I don’t always follow the writing rules that others say I should, but I know that I’m unique, just like you are. So to finish this up, I’m not going to share any help blogs but, I am going to send you over to Jessie’s blog for a pep talk!

http://jessiestank.blogspot.com/2012/06/power-within.html?spref=tw

Have a great day everyone and keep writing and telling your stories in your own unique way!

 

9 Comments

  1. Great attitude!

    Like

  2. Hi Diana
    Thank you. I do try to stay positive, but there are some days I wonder where my self confidence is hiding. 🙂

    Like

  3. Thank you for promoting my post, Karen. I really appreciate it. You are right about the vast amounts of conflicting info that’s out there. But, remember that at the end of the day, those people giving all that advice are really only telling what worked for them. Every book and every writer is different. Saying that there is one correct way to write a book is like saying there is only one correct combination of pizza toppings. Take the info that you find helpful and leave the rest. Good luck with your writing! And, thanks again.

    Like

    • Hi Jessie and no problem. I thought your pep talk was right on this morning. Just what I needed!
      And as for pizza, there’s only one topping needed, Cheese! The rest are just added bonuses!
      Each one unique in it’s own way.

      Like

  4. Never let advice get in the way of the creative process. If it’s good advice, you’ll be able to see an improvement in your writing when you follow it. Otherwise, just ignore! I write in a way which appeals to me as a reader. But I do also find the input of others useful (even when I choose to ignore it), so the Writers’ Group that I attend twice a month has been hugely helpful. If I was going to recommend one thing only to a new writer, then it would be – join a writers’ group. 🙂

    Like

  5. Zen

    I think every book differs from the other, and you should write what you believe works for your book. In most of the things I’ve read online, people would say that including a back story at the very beginning is an absolute no-no, but I know for a fact that my story wouldn’t be understandable if it weren’t for the back story I included at first. Creativity shouldn’t be bound by any rules – just write your book however you want. =D

    Like

Leave a Reply

