karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

Wednesday Wonders Interview With Victoria Limbert

I put a call out for interviewees a couple of weeks ago and Victoria quietly and demurely started jumping up and down, waving her arms wildly in the air,

“Pick me, Pick me!”

So let’s hear a big round of applause and welcome Victoria because she is our first,

“Wednesday Wonder”

(and make sure to check out her links and follow her on twitter)

1. Many people don’t like the name they were given at birth. Do you like your given name? If not, what would you rather have been named?

I never used to like my name all that much, especially as a child as Victoria Ruth sounds quite posh and my mum raised me to speak well so many people think I sound quite posh too. I wanted to be called Bethany, or something fun like Kat or Amy, but as an adult I have come to like my name as it sounds grown up.

2. Do you write under your given name or a pseudonym?

I have had many discussions about names, especially on the Writers and Artist’s Websites. When I made the choice to self-publish I was playing about with my name a lot. I was thinking about using Torie or Tor as I was called this a lot by friends. Then I thought of putting my first and middle name together and leaving out my surname because I thought Limbert was boring. A friend of mine wanted me to use the pseudonym Torie Teller (eye roll)….but when it came to it I used the name my mother gave me. People seem to like it, and because Limbert is not a common name it seems to be memorable

3. Is there a routine you go through before you begin writing?

I should have a routine, but my brain revolts against me every time I try to plan time to write. Ideas refuse to flow when I sit at the computer and tell myself to start writing, instead they usually start when I am busy doing something else. It is hard to get myself in to the type of routine where I write for an hour a day, at the same of day, so I tend to just let it happen. Thankfully when I do get an idea or when I am in the mood to write I can do so for hours and hours without realizing it.

4. Is there anyone you admire?

In the literacy world I admire writers like Cassandra Clare, Laurell. K. Hamilton, Stephen King, David Gemmel and many more, their talent is phenomenal and I dream to be as good as them. Out of the literacy world I admire my dad, his skills as a landscape painter fill me with envy and he is loving and kind and strong, as a man he is loyal to my mum and a great parent. It is his love of books that gave me the push I needed to start writing seriously.

5. What do you like to read?

Pretty much anything. I am not a huge fan of Biographies or pure romance novels but I read almost every other genre. I love anything paranormal, dark/urban fantasy, epic fantasy, anything with magic, romance, heroes and heroines and horror.

6. Do you have a favorite author?

Laurell. K. Hamilton is one of my favourite authors; her books are fantastic even if they do make me blush constantly. She is so brave to write the way she does and it inspires me to be a better writer. When I was younger David Gemmel was my favourite author after I read Winter Warriors.

7. Does it have to be quiet when you write or do you like background noise? TV, music, etc.

I have the ability, unfortunately for my fiancé, to block out the world around me when I am writing, even if I am halfway through a conversation or watching a program on TV. The moment the writing starts flowing, my fiancé knows not to try and engage me in any serious discussions. He has to make me turn away from the computer and look at him to make sure I am fully listening to him before asking me anything. It’s hard, as I am sure other writers understand, to pull yourself out of the story world. Sometimes we are in deep!

8. Beach or mountains?

Wow, I love this question! Mountains always. I am not a fan of hot, sticky weather and all beaches tend to look the same to me. Mountains are beautiful, especially if its somewhere where they are snow capped. I like great scenery, it helps get the imagination flowing.

9. What inspires you?

People, places, landscapes. Driving through the countryside where I live in England inspires great, descriptive places for characters to live or travel through. People who I meet or pass by give ideas for new characters in my books. Music is always great inspiration for me as I like rock music and I often picture action scenes to Metallica, Slipknot and many others. It helps me write.

10. Doesn’t matter who we are, man, woman, child, all of us get freaked out by something. Spiders, mice, snakes, bugs, geese, etc. What freaks you out?

The dark! I am frightened of the dark. I don’t know how or why but ever since I was a child I have always been freaked out by the dark. On the few occasions I found myself in the darkness my imagination works over time. I hear noises everywhere, I think I see things moving and then because I am trying to hear where it’s coming from, everything just gets louder and I totally freak out. At one point, after I met my fiancé, I was getting a lot better and then we had a horror movie night and I couldn’t sleep for ages and haven’t slept in the dark since. We now keep the TV on over night. Is that bad? 26 years old and still afraid of the dark. I write about demons and monsters and things that go bump under the bed and yet I can’t face sleeping with all the lights off!

11. I read on another blog, that a writer was working on 10 novels at once. Confusing! Do you work on one or multiple novels at a time?

Yes, I am guilty of this. Not 10 though! My poor brain suffers with confusion enough as it is. I currently have about four projects ongoing with a few ideas still hanging around on notepads, napkins and scraps of paper which I will give life to when things are more settled.

12. What do you like to do when you are not writing?

When I am not writing I read almost constantly. When I am not reading I visit family and spend time with my nieces and nephews. I love big families and love being around them, you spend a lot of time laughing, and I think that is good for the heart and soul.

13. And last question…Do you have anything new coming out that you’d like to share with us?

I am currently working on the 2nd book in the Twin Soul Novels series and it will be published to kindle before Christmas this year. I am so excited about it as I have finally chosen a title, which will be revealed a bit later on in the year.

Links :

Her Website  http://torsimagination.weebly.com/

Amazon UK book link  http://www.amazon.co.uk/Lilith-Twin-Soul-Novels-ebook/dp/B007Q4DJ6U/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1338138471&sr=8-1

US book link  http://www.amazon.com/Lilith-Twin-Soul-Novels-ebook/dp/B007Q4DJ6U/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1338138522&sr=8-1%20amazon

Find her on  Goodreads  http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5807653.Victoria_Limbert

And follow her on Twitter!  @VickyLimbert

Bio ~ My name is Victoria Ruth Limbert, born and raised in Lincoln, England and the youngest of 5 (the hardships)

I am the Author of my debut novel Lilith, the first book in a series I am writing called The Twin Soul Novels. The books follow Annette and the She-Demon Lilith as they work together, on a shaky truce, to survive the human and the demon worlds. As a child I wrote a 70 page story about demons, vampires and other dark things no stable child should write about. As an adult, I took that child’s story and turned it in to a full length novel. Now I work towards my dream and hope people enjoy my books. Be aware that some themes are incredibly dark, disturbing and for adult eyes only.

12 Comments

  1. Great interview! Really good questions. I love reading more about authors.

    Like

  2. Hi Karen. Please visit my novel’s page on Goodreads to see if you’re interested in an interview, as the print release date on “Awake in the Mad World” is approaching and I’m looking to discuss it. Thank you, in advance. Cheers! Damon Ferrell Marbut

    Like

  3. Fantastic interview! Victoria is an amazing lady and writer. Such a pleasure to get to know her more intimately. I was astounded by LILITH. Wishing you much success ♥¸,¸.•*¨*♥

    Like

  4. Great to learn more about Victoria, thanks Karen for the interview!
    eden

    Like

    • Hi Eden I’m glad you enjoyed it. Any time you want to be interviewed or do a guest post let me know. 🙂

      Like

  5. I was so nervous! but the questions were great!

    Like

    • Why were you nervous? You did great! You know what would really be scary? Being interviewed live or via skype! Then I’d be nervous!

      Like

  6. That is definately true! I go bright red in any situation! I prefer to hide behind my book LOL! I love reading interviews, you get a real insight in to the author. 🙂

    Like

    • I’m shy when I meet people in person. I either get really quiet or I start babbling! But online I usually do okay 🙂

      Like

Trackbacks

  1. Ransom by Emily Guido « karensdifferentcorners

Leave a Reply

