karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

Leukemia: Detour Ahead!

 You’re headed down that big highway of life and things couldn’t be better. Marriage, kids, a beautiful house, a job. Remember when that beautiful baby was born? The nurse held it up for you to see and showed you all those cute little fingers and toes? But somewhere down the line somebody decided that there was roadwork that needed to be done and threw up a detour sign. Why you want to know? Why now? Maybe your child is 2 or 4, or even 7. My own son was diagnosed 3 weeks before he turned 11.

A Detour? Really,you call this a detour, it feels more like you’ve ran into a brick wall! Life stops as you know it, that minute your child is diagnosed with leukemia, or any cancer for that matter. Your world is literally turned upside down. I remember the day my son’s oncologist confirmed my son’s leukemia. I started to cry and Dr. B put his hand on my forehead and told me,

“If I could cure him just like this, I would, but I can’t, so you’ve got to be strong, learn everything you can and we will work together to make him healthy.”

Okay he had me. I figured God put him here to help And he earned my trust at that moment.

Learn everything you can he said and I did. And believe me there is a lot to learn. There are white blood cells, red blood cells, neutrophils (A high neutrophil count can be caused by cancer spreading in the body) Neutrophils are your white blood cells that help attack infections. Sometimes they go haywire, mutate, and mass produce, killing off healthy blood cells. During high doses of chemo they can drop quite low, leaving you prone to infections. But not only do you learn about all the different blood counts, but you also learn about all the different types of chemo and side effects from it. Treatments vary. There’s cytoxin, and L’asparginese,  VINCRISTINE, and methotrexate. These are just a few. And then there are steroids given off and on throughout treatment to help keep the blood counts up. And some patients are given radiation also. Then there’s all the tests…Blood draws, x-rays, bone scans, spinal taps, and bone marrow aspirations. These are done on weekly, monthly, or every 3 months depending on the test that is needed. Not to mention other things you have to deal with, Doctor visits, waiting rooms, hospital beds, IV’s, insurance, wheelchairs, and the list goes on and on. And it’s not cheap. Yes insurance does pay for some of the costs, but not all. And those  little costs add up. They put a strain on your finances. Many times a parent will take a leave of absence from work which this puts more strain on their financial situation and what can you do about it? Well there are a few different society’s that do help cover some of the costs your insurance doesn’t. One is the Leukemia Society and then there’s the Cancer Society. There are others, but it’s best to talk to the hospital social worker and she can help.

Which brings me to the reason I started this post.

A fellow Indie Author Maxwell Cyn’s 21 year old son Joshua was diagnosed with leukemia in January.

http://maxwellcynn.blogspot.com/search?updated-max=2012-03-18T16:11:00-04:00&max-results=5

And Fellow authors have been helping raise money for all the things that Joshua’s insurance won’t cover.

http://www.indiegogo.com/indiesuniteforjoshua?c=activity&a=578933

There are only 20 days left in the fundraiser and the goal is to raise $10,000 dollars and I just checked and they are at $8,050.

Yes they are getting close, but I’m asking you, to help spread the word and help push them way past their goal.

Stop by their site, there are multiple ways you can help, you can purchase an e-book from one of the authors who have generously donated, or a signed  paperback copy and You can purchase one of Max’s books here.

http://www.amazon.com/The-Collective-ebook/dp/B005XRPR6W/ref=sr_1_3?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1336751565&sr=1-3

Eden Baylee has been organizing and coordinating, and promoting the fundraiser so Make sure you stop by her site for additional details http://edenbaylee.wordpress.com/

And Robert “Sharky” Pruneda has been a big part of the fundraiser also http://sharkbaitwrites.com/

I know times are tough, but having a child, no matter what their age, be diagnosed with any type of cancer, is one of the hardest things any parent can go through.

Thank you for following my blog and reading my post today. Big hugs to all.

10 Comments

  1. Beautiful post. Much love.
    max

    Like

    • Hi Max and Thank you.
      I’m surprised I remember all of that since it’s been 25 years that my son’s been in remission!
      I’ve been trying to keep up with the updates and it sounds like Joshua is doing well.
      Sending love and hugs to you and your family.
      Hope you have a wonderful weekend.
      Karen

      Like

  2. Thanks for the post Karen, you’ve been amazing in your support of Indies Unite for Joshua, thank you. Hope you have a Happy Mother’s Day.
    xoxox
    eden

    Like

  3. Hi Eden
    No thanks needed. I’m glad you stopped by though, I was wondering about the blogs, interviews/guest bloggers $20, and want to know which ones are still available for interviews. If you could let me know I’d appreciate it. my email is kkrafts58@yahoo.com and big hugs to you for all you’ve done. You are a very special person.
    xoxo
    Karen

    Like

  4. Much love and hugs to you all and especially to Joshua. I’ve shared this and hope it will help in some way. Wish you health and happiness.

    Like

    • Hi Ella and thank you so much for sharing. Hope you have a great weekend!
      Love and hugs back to you.

      Like

  5. Hi, thanks for liking the post, JD Mader. Are you on FB? Here’s me, Lae Monie. Looking forward to chatting soon. All the best and happy writing 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

