karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

How does it end? Or, Feeling Frustrated!

Okay so I know how it’s supposed to end, but how? I know who’s supposed to get the girl, but how? Okay, I know how he gets the girl, BUT HOW does it end? This final chapter in my current book is driving me crazy! Add this, take out that, edit, rewrite, change, redo, UGH! Take a break and go color my hair, because what I haven’t pulled out is turning gray! I told my son a couple of weeks ago, “I’m just going to end it like the “Sopranos” TV show.

Knock at the door, she answers it, “What are you doing here?” The End! No you don’t get to see who’s there. No there is no follow up book. That’s it. Done deal!

Okay well you got lucky, I made it past that part but, HOW DOES IT END?!

5 Comments

  1. Haha! I recognize this problem, Karen. The ending to my novel eluded me, too, but in a different way. I just kept writing, long after it should have finished. Fortunately, I had an editor at hand (aka my wife, Juli) and she was able to point out the error of my ways and give me good advice about where the ending should be. I can still remember the huge relief of being able to get off what had become a bit of a treadmill!
    Good luck…

    Like

    • Hi Stuart, I’ll give you a quick little history and then you can see why it’s driving me so batty!
      In Feb. 2011, I closed my gift shop due to the economy and a flaky business partner who disappeared on me. I had this story going through my head, so being bored silly, in May I decided to put in down on paper. I started on the first chapter wrote a couple of pages and was stuck, so I sat it aside and wrote the second and third chapters and then it dawned on me, “I should google how to write a book” I wasn’t a writer, never thought about being a writer, I just needed to put the story on paper so I could get it out of my head. Well one of the help blogs said, “You have to have an ending, a HEA, and I panicked and stressed on it for 2 days, woke up on the third day and there it was. I wrote the ending and then wrote the 13 middle chapters and finally finished the first chapter. I did it that way for my NaNoWriMo and my novelette also, but no, I had to write this book all the way through and am now stuck, waiting for my aha moment!

      Like

  2. slowly, unearth the fossil (as S.King says to do!). It might take a little more time to be ‘revealed’ but worth the wait!

    Like

    • Good morning Jeannie! Ahh yes, it’s what I call my epiphany, like “House” Gets just at the end of all his shows. That Aha moment! Funny I was reading my horoscope this morning and your comment tied in with it. And I am waiting for it to be revealed, because it’s got to be just right.

      My horoscope… “Yes, all this waiting is probably making you absolutely crazy, and yes, you’re due for the universe to toss you just one tiny bone. Now, stop whining. Nothing happens until it’s supposed to happen, and no matter how hard you try, you can’t change that. Deal with it.”

      Like

      • ha ha…that’s it in a nutshell!! Happy revealing 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

