karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

“Yawnnnnnn”

It’s 5:30 in the morning and I’m tired. Why am I up you ask? It’s this darn insomnia.

Not mine! My dogs!

This is Mitzy. I got her when she was 8 weeks old back in October 2003.

IM000680.JPG

 

This is Duggy. I took him in, in 2010 and I’m guessing he was just under a year.

duggy - Copy (2)

And This is Chauncy and I took her in last year and I’m guessing she was about 4 months old at that time.

003 (24)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

For the past couple of weeks the three of them have been taking turns getting me up every two hours. It’s like having a newborn in the house times three.

One will start at 12:30 and then the next will get up at 2:30 and then at 4:30 and finally Mitzy the oldest will get me up at 5:30 wanting to go out and then eat breakfast.

The problem with getting up so early is that come noon I’m ready for a nap. :-) And not just a quick 30 minute nap, but an hour and 30 minute nap, which leads to feeling yucky when I get up and problems falling asleep when I go to bed.

So if anyone has any tips to cure my dog’s insomnia,  I’d love to hear them.

4 Comments

  1. Karen, one of my dogs used to try to get me up in the middle of the night. I put my foot down and stopped getting up. I just told him to lie down, and I put a pillow over my head until he settled down. Oh, how he went on and on about my laziness. The next night when I put him outside before bed, he made sure all business (if you know what I mean) was taken care of.

    No trouble since.

    I love Duggy, he curls up like my lab cross, Max. Of course Max is quite a bit bigger and I get shoved off the couch. :-)

    Anna from Shout with Emaginette

    • Hi Anna
      Duggy is pretty good. If he gets cold or scared he just climbs into bed with me. Chauncy is the newest stray and hasn’t moved into the house yet. so she will bark and get Duggy up, who will bark, which leads me to get up and see what’s going on. Mitzy pretty much does okay, but come 5:30 she says it’s time to get up, no matter what. I’m thinking with her age she just can’t hold it any longer.

  2. Love the pics! Sounds to me like your dogs are in cahoots, working in shifts to drive you crazy. :)

    Madeline @ The Shellshank Redemption
    Minion, Capt. Alex’s Ninja Minion Army
    The 2014 Blogging from A-Z Challenge

    • Hi Madeline! Thank you and yes they are working very hard to drive me batty, but I love them still. :-) I stopped by your blog and see you have tortoises. Did you see my “T” is for Tortoise post?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,649 other followers

