karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

Judging A Book By Its Cover Part 4 It’s All About The Blurb

I was reading a blog post (Ugh! Can’t remember who’s) But they were saying, “Give me more! Don’t be afraid to add more to your blurb or include a snippet from the book. If you want me to read it, entice and intrigue me.” Some books and movies have those famous one lines that as soon as you hear it, you know which book it is.

Here’s some examples and I’m sure if you’ve read the book or seen the movie you’ll know. “Luke, I’m your father” Someone said that that isn’t what was said, but that’s what I remember. Or how about, “Hasta la vista, baby” And “Go ahead punk, make my day” You all remember that one, right? And who could forget the older woman in the restaurant telling the waiter, “I’ll have what she’s having.”

Does your book have one of those memorable one liners? I was looking at my own blurbs. By the way, I don’t know about you, but writing blurbs are high up on the list of things I don’t enjoy doing, along with editing,  writing query letters, and synopsis. But they are an important part of our cover. They tell the reader what our book is about.

Anyway, I was looking at my own blurbs for 3 of my books and I realize there could be more. Here’s mine exactly as they appear on the back covers. And in bold is an example of what I could add.

Kyle & Kelly

Meeting Kyle that first day of Jury duty, Kelly is taken with Kyle’s charm and good looks, but when he introduces her to Sheila, Kelly knows she doesn’t stand a chance. Will Kelly be able to keep their relationship professional and not let Kyle see her heart breaking as she plans their wedding?

You know I really don’t know what else I could add to this. I thought a certain conversation between Kyle & Kelly would be a good example to show you a little of their personalities, but….If you’ve read the book, maybe you have a suggestion as to what else would work on the back cover.

http://www.amazon.com/Kyle-Kelly-ebook/dp/B0075GI3QU

This time I remembered to add my own links :-) Kyle & Kelly is just 99 cents till the end of the year.

**************************************************************************************************

The Good Dr. Grant

Amy knows she wants just one man’s attention, just one to unleash her passion and connect with, but which one? There’s Tom, her best friend forever, whom she’s had a crush on since they were just kids. Then there’s Dr. Grant Graysen, the veterinarian that took over her father’s practice, but wait…Is that Kent, her ex husband, the most passionate man she has ever known, what’s he doing here?
This is actually a favorite part for me, in my book. It’s a conversation between Amy and Dr. Grant.
“Good morning.”
“Good morning to you. Are you hungry?”
Amy kisses him on the back and slides her hand down into his sweatpants and gives him a playful squeeze.
“Not for breakfast.”
“So do you want me to stop what I’m doing and work on satisfying your other appetite?”
“You’d do that for me?”
“Of course.”
“No, I don’t want to make you late for work. The boss might get mad. Do you want some help?”
“Not until you go wash those hands. God knows where they’ve been.”
Amy gives a little tug on him and whispers in his ear.
Now for my tagline. You ready?
“Probably the same place my mouth was earlier.”
But we have to be careful with what we put on our back cover. We don’t want to be misleading and give our readers the wrong impression. You see “The Good Dr. Grant” Is just a sexy romance, not an erotic romance.
And if you haven’t seen it yet, here’s the book trailer on Youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v9b2TeEIYyY&list=PL31A693BFDC654A9B&index=1&feature=plpp_video
And “The Good Dr. Grant is just 99 cents until the end of October
*************************************************************************************************
Chris’ Journey Turning Different Corners, Her Journey Begins
Walk with Chris as her journey begins from being a foster child to falling in love with her high school sweetheart, only to meet with tragedy, rape, and abuse. Can Chris keep her faith in what Barb taught her, “That every thing happens for a reason”
If I were to add to this, it would be;
“Her Journey Begins” is more than just a romance. There’s sorrow, pain, laughter, joy, family and friends, all wrapped around a tender sweet love between Chris and Brandon, her high school sweetheart. There will be heroes and heroines, good guys and bad, people you’ll love and people you’ll hate and this is just the first corner.  Come cry, laugh, and love with Chris as she begins her Journey Turning Different Corners.
And Chris’ Journey will be free Tuesday, October 9th
***********************************************************************************************************

Okay you know what time it is. Show us your blurb! If you are happy with it just the way it is, then just send a picture of your cover (front or back, your choice) and your blurb to me. If you think you could have added more, send the original blurb, the photo, and what you would add. Highlight the part you would add so I can make sure when I post I put it in bold. And don’t forget to send a link where we can find your book! I will share the first 20 blurbs in the order they are received!

1 Comment

    Trackbacks

    1. Judging A Book By It’s Cover Part 4 cont. Your Blurbs! « karensdifferentcorners

    Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 4,758 other followers

