karensdifferentcorners

Treat everyday as a new adventure

Wednesday Wonders Welcomes Amelia James

Please welcome the lovely and talented Amelia James to Wednesday’s Wonders.

Amelia is the author of the soon to be released

“Her Twisted Pleasures”

Important update! I’ve just been told, “Her Twisted Pleasures” Will be released August 15th, which is next Wednesday, so mark your calenders!

Hi Amelia and thank you for joining us here today. I won’t keep you too long, because I know you,

like many of us, have a busy schedule.

 Many people don’t like the name they were given at birth. Do you like your given name? If not, what would you rather have been named?

My given name is quite common—no—popular. Yeah, that’s it. I’m fine with it.

 Do you write under your given name or a pseudonym?
I write romance novels under the pen name Amelia James.

Is there a routine you go through before you begin writing?
 If settling in my comfy spot is a routine, then yes. Otherwise, I just write when I have time, usually 5am, before my daughter wakes up.

Is there anyone you admire?
 I admire Lady Gaga because she succeeded on her own terms when everyone else told her she’d never amount to anything.

 What do you like to read?
 Trashy romance novels. Scottish historicals are my favorite. Men in kilts… mmmmm….

 Do you have a favorite author?
 Kinley MacGregor, Theresa Mederios, Karen Marie Moning are a few.

 Does it have to be quiet when you write or do you like background noise? TV, music, etc.
 I must have quiet. I can’t write with TV or music on.

Beach or mountains?                                                                                                                                                                                                                              

I live in the mountains, so I go to the beach for vacation.

 What inspires you?
My muse, my dirty mind, playing ‘what if’ with my day dreams.

 Favorite snack food?
Real potato chips and mountains of full-fat dip.

Doesn’t matter who we are, man, woman, child, all of us get freaked out by something. Spiders, mice, snakes, bugs, geese, etc. What freaks you out?
Spiders!

What is the most unusual job you’ve ever had?                                                                                                                                                        

Hand-washing dishes at a buffet restaurant. It sucked. Motivated me to finish college.

I read on another blog, that a writer was working on 10 novels at once. Confusing! Do you work on one or multiple novels at a time?
Yes, I do. I’m currently editing two, writing one, and brainstorming several more. When I get stuck on one, I switch to another.   You know I tried that, but I kept mixing up my heroine’s names and I thought my readers would be wondering who Amy was and why was she here! :-)

What do you like to do when you are not writing?
Sleep.

 And last question…Do you have anything new coming out that you’d like to share with us?
Her Twisted Pleasures, an erotic short story collection, is scheduled to be released this month. Sometimes dirty little secrets are more dirty than secret.

Thank you Amelia for being here. We look forward to the release of , “Her Twisted Pleasures” 

Amelia James started reading steamy romance novels in junior high, but her mom took them away from her, so she started daydreaming instead. After she got married, she wrote some of her naughtier daydreams down and sent them to Playgirl magazine. Two of them got published. She kept daydreaming and writing stories until her dirty stories turned into trashy books.
She lives in Colorado, but she’ll always be a loyal Wisconsin Cheesehead. When she’s not lusting after her next bad boy hero, she looks for inspiration in sci-fi and action movies, football players, bloodsucking lawyers, muscle cars, and kick-butt chicks.

You can find out more about Amelia at her blog and various other places around the web!

Trashy’s Treasures Blog:   http://trashystreasures.wordpress.com/  
Evolved Publishing: http://www.evolvedpub.com/press/products/romance/
Amazon author page: http://www.amazon.com/Amelia-James/e/B004SJSLQE
Twitter: https://twitter.com/TrashyWriter
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorAmeliaJames
Good Reads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1219684.Amelia_James
Google +: https://plus.google.com/106317629275663311597/posts

11 Comments

  1. You know how to pick great writers for interviews, Karen!
    I’ve followed Amelia on Titter and enjoy her so much. You speak your mind anf make me laugh! I never knew women had some of the same thoughts as men– even through we can’t help it. I wish you great success with your writing!

    • Hi Dannie!

      We do have the same thoughts as men…sometimes worse. ;) We’re just not allowed to express them. Thanks for stopping by!

      Amelia

      • That’s so true Amelia! Good morning and Happy Wednesday. And thank you for sharing a peek into those thoughts!

    • Good morning Dannie. I just ask the questions :-) It’s the writers who share the amazing answers!

  2. Hi Karen!

    Thank you for having me here today. *muah*

    Amelia

    • So has a release date been set?

      • Yes. Her Twisted Pleasure will be out next Wednesday, August 15th! Yay!

      • Yay! That’s great. Let me update this post so everyone reading it will know!

  3. Enjoyed reading your comments. It’s nice to know that I’m not the only one who needs complete silence when writing! My husband talks to himself, so I’m always kicking him out of the house.

    • I can’t think straight if I’m distracted. I’m a pretty good multi-tasker, but writing takes all my focus.

    • Haha! The only one that talks to themselves around here is me and that’s because my characters are taking over my mouth :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,649 other followers

